Honoré Sauvé’s children…

Yesterday I told you I was going to talk about Honoré Sauvé’s family, but you see, it was also Julie Leroux’s family.

I understand genealogy uses the name of the father, but I think we owe Julie Leroux just a bit of recognition in the part she played in all this.

Right on Baby…!

Few people outside Quebec know that women in Quebec kept their maiden name in the 1850s when they got married.

Here is the proof.

In the 1852 census we read Honoré Sauvé, 27, and Julie Leroux, 26.

1852 census

After, men voted a law that changed all that…

Married women had to carry their husband’s name.

Go figure…

Anyway, Julie Leroux had 11 children, 6 boys and 5 girls.

Click on the image to zoom in

She probably had a whole lot more.

Some might have died at birth or some might have been lost through miscarriages…

You see, the Catholic clergy in Quebec, back in those days, incited women to have a baby a year…

Go figure…

So I figure that Julie had around 22 pregnancies in her life. 50% survived though some died as infants.

Julie was married on November 8, 1843 and her first child Isaïe was born on February 12, 1845.

That’s 15 months between the marriage and Isaïe’s birth. Her last recorded birth was April 16, 1866 when she was 42 years old. She gave birth to Paul Saül Sauvé.

Anyway, Julie did her best to raise a family and keep the clergy happy.

Next time, I will show you old sepia photographs one of which will be Isaïe Sauvé.

I know Odette will be thrilled by my old sepia photographs and specially one thing I found on the mormons’ site…