Genealogy runs in my veins… Take 2

Post No. 256!

Now we are getting somewhere.

I just got this comment from Grace who has helped someone in her search for her ancestors. Now it’s her turn to get some help.

So here is what she wrote as a comment… as a reference to a message on Ancestry posted back in 2000!

I am Paul Chandler. My mother is Sarah Glory Chandler. My grandfather is Henry Glory. My great-grandmother was Annie Mary Lagasse Glory (1894-1970). My great-great-grandfather was Joseph Lagasse (1873?-1957). My great-great-great-grandfather was Henry Lagasse (1831-1909). THIS Henry was married to Mathilda Dazet and according to their tomb in Lafayette #2 (NOT L#1 across the street from Commander’s Palace) they were both native of France. Henry and Mathilda had two sons and three daughters. The sons were Paul (1862-1935)and Joseph (my ancester). Joseph had at least 11 kids. Paul had at least 13 kids. Each of the sons had lots of boys to the point of where I am related to every Lagasse in town except for the famous Emeril who is from up north. Paul had a Henry who had a Henry. Joseph had two Henry’s (one died as an infant). Which Henry is your grandfather? I am guessing that the original Henry came to New Orleans before the Civil War

Now her reply to Paul…

This is a reply to Henri Jean Lagasse by Paul. Well, what do you know, Paul , you are a relative of mine! My grandfather was Joseph Robert Lagasse (18 Mar 1899 – 17 Apr 1954). He married my grandmother, Mary Gerdes Cook on 6 Aug 1919 at Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic Church in New Orleans. He was the son of Joseph Lucien Lagasse, my great-grandfather, your great-great grandfather. I saw you had a question mark by his birth. He was born on 17 Jan 1872. He married Josephine Schneeburger (not sure of the date) in New Orleans and he died on 14 Aug 1957 in New Orleans. My great-great-grandfather was Henri Jean Lagasse, who was your 3rd great grandfather. He was born in France (not sure where) on 09 May 1831 and died in New Orleans on 04 Dec 1909. He married  Matilde Dazet somewhere in France because his first child Marie or Mary was born in 1857 in France according to the 1880 census.

I found Matilda Dazet, at the nice age of 70 and Henri Jean Lagasse, at 69, on the 1900 Census which confirms their marriage year of 1859 in France…. where again it does not state. Interesting because it appears that they had Mary before they were married. The 1900 Census states that his parents were born in France as well. At this time, they list Matilde as having 5 living children but gave birth to 7. In addition, I recently found two ship manifests for Henri Jean Lagasse.

HERE IS THE FIRST MANIFEST FOR HENRI JEAN LAGASSE

New York Passenger Lists, 1820-1957 about Henri Lagasse
Name: Henri Lagasse
Arrival Date: 28 Aug 1898
Birth Year: abt 1831
Age: 67
Gender: Male
Ethnicity/Race-/Nationality: American
Place of Origin: United States of America
Port of Departure: Havre
Port of Arrival: New York, New York
Ship Name: La Touraine
Search Ship Database: Search the La Touraine in the ‘Passenger Ships and Images’ database

THE SECOND MANIFEST states, because I can’t place my finger on it at the moment that

Henri Jean Lagasse was on the Passenger list of 1897 at 66 years old coming back from France. His port of departure was Boulogne-sur-Mer, France. I asked myself why would a 66 year old man be going back to France- unless someone died. It would have been either his mom or dad, don’t you think? Boulogne-sur-Mer is a city in northern France. I can’t see Henri at 66 traveling too far away from this port at his age back in 1897. I am researching this area and surrounding areas to see if any Lagasses lived there. Also the port in Havre, France. My last living aunt, Glory Lagasse Cronin, says she thinks that they may have come from Alsace Lorraine. Not sure.

If you can, please respond to my post.

Thanks, Grace

P.S. My mother, Grace , use to talk about her Uncle Henry Glory all the time. She lived on Annunciation street uptown New Orleans and I think they did not live far away.

Thanks to Pierre Lagacé for this blog.

Now the ball is rolling…

Not only rolling but I will translate this in French, my mother tongue since I also have a French version of this blog, and I have many readers from France and abroad.

So who knows?

Maybe someone knows something about Henri Jean Lagasse who emigrated to America in the 1800s.

We’ll just have to sit and wait this one out.

Next time, I will have the translation in French.

Genealogy runs in my veins…

Post No. 255!

Hard to stop looking for ancestors?

You can bet on it.

Hard to stop looking also for other people’s ancestors?

You can bet on it also.

Henri Jean Lagasse emigrated to America and he left descendants searching for their roots back in France.

That’s what the 1900 U.S. Census says,

This search has been going on the Internet since 2000.

I am Paul Chandler. My mother is Sarah Glory Chandler. My grandfather is Henry Glory. My great-grandmother was Annie Mary Lagasse Glory (1894-1970). My great-great-grandfather was Joseph Lagasse (1873?-1957). My great-great-great-grandfather was Henry Lagasse (1831-1909). THIS Henry was married to Mathilda Dazet and according to their tomb in Lafayette #2 (NOT L#1 across the street from Commander’s Palace) they were both native of France. Henry and Mathilda had two sons and three daughters. The sons were Paul (1862-1935) and Joseph (my ancestor). Joseph had at least 11 kids. Paul had at least 13 kids. Each of the sons had lots of boys to the point of where I am related to every Lagasse in town except for the famous Emeril who is from up north. Paul had a Henry who had a Henry. Joseph had two Henrys (one died as an infant). Which Henry is your grandfather?

I am guessing that the original Henry came to New Orleans before the Civil War.

With the message I got on Ancestry’s Message Board yesterday I think Henri Jean Lagasse is still looking for his ancestors.

I know people who had been searching for the elusive Dennis Lagasse for 25 years.

I was here all the time… with my brother Peter.

Pierre Lagacé (Peter Lagasse) and Stanislas Lagacé (Dennis Lagasse II)

Thanks to this blog, Dennis has reunited three distant cousins together and he keeps reuniting people over and over again.

Make that four cousins and counting.

As for Henri Jean Lagasse, I am also certain he is not really related to me. But is that really important?

Genealogy runs in my veins…