Paul is coming home…

Paul wrote me this morning.

All systems are go.

I even gave him an alternate route to drive to Ste-Anne-des-Plaines.

There is a lot of road construction in Quebec.

The most direct route would be using Mercier bridge.

But that’s a big NO NO…

There is only one lane open.

Click here for more information on the Mercier bridge.

You see there has been a lack of maintenance on Quebec roads and bridges for about 20 years or so.

It took the death of some innocent motorists crushed under an overpass to serve as a wake-up call.

Too many people to blame so nobody got the blame.

That’s a shame…

Click here to learn more about the overpass collapse.

Anyway Paul is going to come here by Autoroute 30 and crossing the St. Lawrence using  the Hippolyte-Lafontaine tunnel.

That tunnel is due for refection in 2014 so everything should be fine.

I have invited Paul, his wife and his brother for lunch after their trip from Burlington, Vermont.

They will probably go by Winooski, Vermont.

That’s the place Stanislas Lagacé aka Dennis Lagasse was in 1880. He was working in a lumber yard.

This information does not seem to be much of interest until you find out that I knew nothing about Stanislas’ son Leo Senior born June 5, 1888.

Now I know everything about my Lagacé ancestors.

As I said, Paul will bring his wife and his brother along to Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines and have lunch at my place.

He does not know it yet but he will also bring all these people along…

Published by

Pierre Lagacé

Retired school teacher and amateur historian Enseignant retraité et historien amateur

5 thoughts on “Paul is coming home…”

  1. Don’t come by the Mercier bridge Ron… You will get stuck in traffic and miss dessert.

  2. Lol…
    I only know the horse and buggy way my ancesters may have took to get us where we are today…
    Route 158.
    I think I’ll be ok coming this way again unless they have Hawksburry close too.

    Ron

  3. Such an amazing accomplishment, you must be so proud. I really wish you would give me a hint as to how to find so much. (although I did have a small family and now I’m the only one left)

    1. It is easy in Quebec to find ancestors since priests keep parish registers. Also when people got married, the maiden name was used and both parents’ names were used. So you had the names of the bride and the groom with their parents’ names.
      Piece of cake… but not always.
      As for Paul, there is a whole lot more in this meeting, but it is very personal.

Leave a comment