Art Purcell

Jim L’Esperance sent me this picture of his father with this message. 

Pierre, I finaly located the picture of my uncle Art Purcell. He is with my dad in Halifax in 1941.
Art was killed in Holland right near the end of the war.
 
Jim
 

Art Purcell and Jim L'Esperance

We see Art Purcell and Jim L’Esperance. Jim’s father came back from the war but not Art Purcell.

If I am writing about Art Purcell, it’s because of the comments sent about this post. You have to read it first to fully understand why I am writing this blog and all the others I have been writing.

Here are the comments…

  1. Jim L’Esperance
    My mother’s brother was killed in Holland, I believe it was around the same time. His name is Art Purcell.

    He was buried in Holland and my niece found his gravesite when she was an exchange student in Holland.

    Jim

  2. Pierre Lagacé

    In memory of
    Private
    ARTHUR FRANCIS PURCELL
    who died on April 7, 1945

    Military Service:

    Service Number: F/10013
    Age: 25
    Force: Army
    Unit: South Saskatchewan Regiment, R.C.I.C.

  3. Pierre Lagacé

    I think it’s him.
    He died one month before the end of the hostilities.

  4. John Newton

    My wife’s father is related to private Arthur Frances Purcell, died in Holland 7 april 45, shot by a sniper . He is buried at Holten. Arthur was the uncle of Joseph Purcell, my father-in-law, who is still alive today (age 84). Joseph was asking about Arthur today so we got looking on line. Photos would be appreciated.