My granduncle Antoine

I have quite a few unknown people in my collection of old pictures. Every chance I get I will write something about them. This has been going on since 2009.

I am sure the lady on the left is Ida Lagasse. Not sure about the lady on the right whom I think could be her sister Odna. No idea yet who is the soldier although I know William and Joseph Lagasse, two sons of mon grand-oncle Antoine, were in the first battle of the U.S. Army in France during World War One. William was killed and Joseph taken prisoners.

How’s that for a history lesson.

This is a beautiful old picture which someone sent me in 2010. I filed it under the name bristol-conn-about-1908-1909.

I believe this couple is my granduncle Antoine Lagasse with his wife Delia Bertrand. The man has an uncanny ressemblance with my great-grandfather Dennis Lagasse.

Well sort of…

That’s the only clue I have with the hint that this picture is part of the same collection of old pictures.

Dennis II with his son Dennis III and Harry Lagasse with little Gerard.

This is Antoine’s family tree on Ancestry that I gladly share with unknown relatives.

 

Here is a picture of Antoine’s headstone I took in 2011 when I visited St. Thomas Cemetery with 3rd cousin Joe.

Joe and I have become inseparable since 2011. I wish I could visit him every year, but life as a way to get in the way… Lately I got a few comments by distant relatives some I most probably scared away with this obsession for writing about dead people.

I can live with that.

So what about my granduncle Antoine?

2 thoughts on “My granduncle Antoine

  1. Pierre, you don’t scare me away with your “obsession”. I love that you do it and share. We met and talked and this too is my family. Thank you for all of your hard work.

Leave a Reply

