There Is not Much that Can Stop Me… Redux

A proof to show you how finding out about your roots is so much fun…

Our Ancestors

Note

Another Redux Post so you don’t have to read the whole blog with more than 500 posts…

START

When I was looking for my grandfather Leo’s ancestors, I found to my big surprise that he was living in Hartford, Connecticut with his father Stanislas, who called himself Dennis, and his mother Henriette Alexandre, who was Harriett.

Censuses are so precious to find clues about your ancestors if you know how to use them.

Léo was living with his older brother Adlore (Adélard) born in 1880. Léo was born in June 1888 and he was the last of the children.

In the 1900 U.S. census, I found out that Harriett (Henriette) had 13 children with 6 still living. That I did not know.

I had only found 12!

Click on the image it will appear in another window

Friday morning, while looking into the register of Notre-Dame-des-Anges parish in Notre-Dame…

View original post 230 more words

Such a Beautiful Picture

If you had missed what I had written four years ago…

Our Ancestors

I know I should ease up a little on Our Ancestors…

I am still unable to ascertain this is Anthony Lagasse and his first wife Delia Bertrand.

Bristol, Conn. about 1908-1909

He looks so much like his dad. He has to be Anthony.

Dennis II and Dennis II 1916Readers will understand how searching for Our Ancestors is a passion bordering on obsession.

Anthony Lagasse is in fact Antoine Lagacé born in 1863. He is the first child of Stanislas Lagacé (Dennis Lagasse II) and Henriette Alexandre.

Anthony was named after his great-grandfather Antoine Mignier dit Lagacé. 

I don’t have a picture of Henriette Alexandre to show you nor of Antoine Mignier dit Lagacé. This is the only image of Antoine Mignier dit Lagacé I can show you.

 Antoine Mignier 1797-1875

It’s the burial act of Antoine who died on February 17, 1875 in Bedford, Quebec.

I wish I could show you a picture of old Antoine and Henriette Alexandre.

I have…

View original post 57 more words

My granduncle Antoine

I have quite a few unknown people in my collection of old pictures. Every chance I get I will write something about them. This has been going on since 2009.

I am sure the lady on the left is Ida Lagasse. Not sure about the lady on the right whom I think could be her sister Odna. No idea yet who is the soldier although I know William and Joseph Lagasse, two sons of mon grand-oncle Antoine, were in the first battle of the U.S. Army in France during World War One. William was killed and Joseph taken prisoners.

How’s that for a history lesson.

This is a beautiful old picture which someone sent me in 2010. I filed it under the name bristol-conn-about-1908-1909.

I believe this couple is my granduncle Antoine Lagasse with his wife Delia Bertrand. The man has an uncanny ressemblance with my great-grandfather Dennis Lagasse.

Well sort of…

That’s the only clue I have with the hint that this picture is part of the same collection of old pictures.

Dennis II with his son Dennis III and Harry Lagasse with little Gerard.

This is Antoine’s family tree on Ancestry that I gladly share with unknown relatives.

 

Here is a picture of Antoine’s headstone I took in 2011 when I visited St. Thomas Cemetery with 3rd cousin Joe.

Joe and I have become inseparable since 2011. I wish I could visit him every year, but life as a way to get in the way… Lately I got a few comments by distant relatives some I most probably scared away with this obsession for writing about dead people.

I can live with that.

So what about my granduncle Antoine?