50 years later

This was found in 1967 by someone who had bought a house in Laterrière, Québec.

On the back there was a name…

The person who was asking for my help had always thought it was about a man called Alfred Bouchard from La Malbaie in the Charlevoix region.

But when I took a look at the back I could not make out the name Bouchard but something more like Bouchon…

So I started looking for some Alfred Bouchons in La Malbaie who might have lived in the 1800s. Lo and behold there were none. What I found instead was a lot of Cauchons.

So the name of the man on that image was most probably Alfred Cauchon from La Malbaie or someone by that name who had ordered a picture of his ancestors to be framed, especially with the number 6645 written on the back.

With just these few clues I began looking for all the Alfred Cauchons in the Charlevoix region in the hope of finding who was on that image and solving a 50 year-old mystery.

What I found instead was more than I had bargained for. I found on Find a Grave a descendant of Jean-Baptiste Gemme dit Bellegarde who was General Montcalm’s aide de camp.