About the Campbells

Anna Campbell

Jeffrey sent me this message…


Comment:

Regarding the 1731 birth year of William (Guillaume) Campbell (husband to Marie Josephte Chartier), new evidence has arrived, from a 1784 document taken at St. Philippe, La Prairie, that lists Guillaume as age 62, which places his birth nine years earlier than originally anticipated. The original 1731 date was calculated from type script taken from his death/burial record stating, “about 80 years old” in 1811. In light of this new evidence, the original birth year appears to have been an approximation at best, and Guillaume now appears to have been born circa 1722.

In corroborating this new document, two gentlemen listed as neighbors (Francois Girou and Gabriel Laroche) are the same two gentleman listed on William’s July 1798 ‘Donation of Farm to Son, Michel’ document, proving we have the correct ancestor.

For those wishing to learn more about William’s military regiment, Fraser’s 78th Highlanders, I’ve just open a new online blog dedicated to providing transcriptions of original regimental documents. Feel free to stop by and browse. http://frasers78th.blogspot.com

As always, I will be more than happy to provide this new document at your request, and also answer any questions you may have.

Best,
Jeffrey

http://frasers78th.blogspot.com

 

Comment added by Michele 

Hi Jeffrey, 

I am a descendant of William Alexander Campbell/Marie Chartier and have been working on my family tree since 2004. My paternal grandmother was Aurore Campbell, born to Jules Campbell, who was William’s great-great-grandson. 

I know for many years several of us have tried to trace William’s family in Scotland. To my surprise, on familysearch.org it appears someone has made a tree connecting his parents as James Campbell and Mary Fisher. By James and Mary’s birthdates it looks like they definitely could have been married by 1722 and had William then. But if William is actually 9 years older than we first thought then he could belong to a different family altogether. 

Here is the link: https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/2:2:34HR-S85

Thanks for this blog. 

Michele Pecoraro

14 thoughts on “About the Campbells

  1. Hi Jeffrey. I am a descendant of William Alexander Campbell/Marie Chartier and have been working on my family tree since 2004. My paternal grandmother was Aurore Campbell, born to Jules Campbell, who was William’s great-great grandson. I know for many years several of us have tried to trace William’s family in Scotland. To my surprise, on familysearch.org it appears someone has made a tree connecting his parents as James Campbell and Mary Fisher. By James and Mary’s birthdates it looks like they definitely could have been married by 1722 and had William then. But if William is actually 9 years older than we first thought then he could belong to a different family altogether. Here is the link: https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/2:2:34HR-S85 Thanks for this blog. Michele Pecoraro

  2. Michele,
    People have been trying to make the connection to James and Mary Fisher for years now, but when I ask for evidence in support of their theories I never hear from them again. Notice how they have placed the marriage of William and Marie to the year 1755? William was not even Canada until 1757-8. It’s a shame, because it does a disservice to our ancestors legacy and memory, and it’s not proper genealogy.
    Here’s my link on FamilySearch where I keep all relevant data for William and Marie. I do not have enough time to police the data for their children, but do keep a strong eye on W & M. Keep an eye on the Memories tab and Life Sketch of their page for the latest updates.
    https://familysearch.org/tree/person/KP3R-TZJ/details

      • Thanks for the link to the tree. I noticed the date and spouse is off for Guillaume and Josephe Campbell’s son, Michel, who is my ancestor. I have his spouse as Isabelle Gagne according to this link: http://genealogiequebec.info/frames.html. You have to type in Michel Campbell to get the info. Is this something I am able to correct on familysearch.org? I can also add Isabelle’s line.

      • Thanks Jeffrey. Pierre-I think Jeffrey answered my question, so one of these days I will add the Gagne line.

      • Michele reads the comments. I won’t pursue this research further since I am not that knowledgeable about these ancestors. If Michele wants to contact you I believe she can reach you.

  3. Pierre, thank you so much for putting this together!!!

    William Alexander Campbell was my 7 times Great-Grandfather. I intent to travel to Scotland in August and was wondering if we know of any potential clan affiliation for his family? There are several Cambells clans, I have interacted with a few at local festivals, but lacked the resources to identify him specifically. While in Scotland, I would would like to do some genealogy work and wonder if any of the clan organizations kept resources.

    My line from William Campbell and Marie-Josephte Chartier (Carter) is as follows. The *asterisk denotes their direct descendants.

    *Felicite Campbell, their daughter was born in 1767. She married François Tiriac LaForest, born in 1771.
    *Felicite Tyriac-LaForest (1792-1871) married Jean Baptiste Fredette (1788-1876)
    *Jean Baptiste Fredette (1813-1898) married Emilie Letourneau (1811-1855)
    *Philomene Fredette (1837-1906) married Moise Denault (1834-1902)
    *Moise Denault (1872-1916) married Celina (Lenia) Boucher (1876-1947)
    My Great-Grandfather, *Raymond Denault was born to them in 1908

    Feel free to email me at Still Chasing Fireflies @ Yahoo.com (remove the spaces).

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

