Where in the world did my grandparents get married?

In 2007 that was sort of an obsession.

Where in the world did my grandparents get married?

They never did get married!

leo-2-ans-avec-sa-mere-juliette-mod

My father with the sailor uniform is with my grandmother Juliette just behind (circa 1929)

But before I found that out, I had searched near and far for my paternal grandfather’s father and mother. I had search on the Internet, on databanks, on genealogy forums, on several genealogy Websites, on U.S. and Canadian censuses, on Find a Grave…

I made hypotheses like where did my grandfather, who was also my godfather, had picked up my given name? 

Pierre…

This is how I met Blanche and Frobe for the first time. People I didn’t know had ever existed.

Then someone shared this old picture as she was somewhat related to the Lagasses.

Frobe Lagasse is on the right in the first row and Blanche is the baby being held by her mother Valéda Forand.

How I found out about Frobe Lagasse?

His father was Pierre Adolphe Lagacé. I had known back in 2009 who were finally my grandfather’s father and mother, but I had kept a close eye on that other branch. I did not want all this research to go to waste so I wrote about it.

Pierre Adolphe was the son of Pierre Lagacé (another Pierre) and Marcelline David.

14 March 1851

Pierre was born in 1825 according to this headstone.

Headstones are a secondary source because errors are sometimes found.

His brother Stanislas (Stanislas I), born in 1816, was my great-great-grandfather. Stanislas died March 28, 1900.

This could very well be where I got my given name, from my great-great-grandfather’s brother. Or was it because my great-grandfather Stanislas (Stanislas II) had a brother who was also named Pierre?  

I know by looking at this old picture that Stanislas II and his brother Pierre seemed very close, at least on a park bench…

Pierre (1845- ?) and Stanislas II (1842-1927)

I could never find out when Pierre died. That’s the “?”.

I know a lot about my side of the family, but I don’t know everything.

I know also a lot about Pierre Adolphe seen here on an image I took from the Internet in 2010, but I don’t know everything.

Sometimes people find this blog and start writing. Then they stop writing…like the person who sent me this and said he had more.

I don’t mind waiting because what I find I share for future generations. I understand why some people are not interested in finding their roots, but when they do and write a comment on this blog…

Amazing photographs!  I am partial I suppose as I also have 5 sons!  Thank you for sharing these!  I had the names of Frobe’s parents but nothing further, so that is wonderful as well!

 

I start writing…and sharing.

Happy Thanksgiving to all the Lagacés in the U.S.

It’s not Thanksgiving yet, but it will do.

Our Ancestors

This is a great week.

One of Pierre Adolph Lagasse’s descendant wrote this comment on my blog…

Pierre Adolph Lagasse

My Grandmother was Marie (Blanche) Lagasse.

I have some family photos that I would love to share and hopefully have some help identifying the people in one of the large family photos.

This is the picture Linda sent me…


It was taken in 1905.

Valéda Lagasse née Forand is  holding Blanche Lagasse.

I had written an article on Blanche. Blanche was the daughter of Valéda Forand and Frobe Lagasse. Frobe died in 1915.

Someone was asking a question on a genealogy forum…

I am looking for ancestors of Louis Robitaille (b. 1902?), husband to Marie Blanche Lagasse (b. 1904?), and father of Edward Robitaille (b. 1922?) and Marie Delores Robitaille (b. 1924).

All four were born in Massachusetts.

According to Census, Louis’ parents were both born in French…

View original post 95 more words