Oups! Wrong George 

I stand corrected.

This George Lagasse was in fact the son of Simeon Lagasse and Melvina Saulnier.
I should have double checked.

What luck has to do with it?

What luck has to do with finding your ancestors?

In the 1930 U.S. census George’s wife is listed as Luck K…

The K has to stands for Kearns.This has to be a no-brainer.

We see on the census page that George was married when he was 19 and Luck K was 18. I know that the name of the George’s father is not Idala, but Simeon, and that his mother’s name is not Albina, but Melvina, but that besides the point isn’t?

I think I have found the missing link Alyce was looking for.

I guess I have to say I just got plain lucky…

Meet George _ Redux

This was posted in 2010. Alyce and I have been searching for George’s descendants since.

We had no luck.

Let’s go back in time…


If you have been reading my blog since the end of April [2010], you know that Alyce said that her grandfather Idala Lagasse had five sons.

She only knew the identity of two them: Samuel and of course David who was her father. Alyce and I managed to find the identity of all of them. Alyce told me the family lost track of George. Alyce managed to get some information with the help of another Pierre. He is Peter Lagasse and he sent her this precious information…

Name: George Louis Lagasse
Social Security #:117038055
Sex: MALE
Birth Date: 14 Jul 1907
Birthplace: Massachusetts
Death Date: 23 Aug 1985
Death Place: San Bernardino
Mother’s Maiden Name: Quentin

This confirms what we knew about George. His mother’s maiden name was Quintin, he was born around 1907-1908 in Massachusetts according to the 1920 U.S. census.

1907-1985

Alyce, Pierre, and Peter have teamed up, and George has now been reunited with his four brothers.

Finding George was quite something. This is the story of a great family reunion, but it is the only information we have found about George. If you want to team up with us and share what you know about him, click here to send me an e-mail…

Next time, we will meet Rudy and his wife Emma and try to find his descendants.

Rudolph (Rudy) Lagasse and his wife Emma


Yesterday Alyce sent me a message…

Hi Pierre…

Hope all is great – and all your grand babies are well and happy!
Your posts have certainly displayed a new (or at least to me) love – planes, military etc… huge area to discover. Quick question – my father David, had a long lost brother George who disappeared to LA CA …no one had apparently heard of him again. I found this but cant get anything on his spouse and with a name like Lucky LaGasse … she should be easy!  I’d like to see if they had any kids and maybe they are near me in CA.
I have no access to Ancestry as I don’t belong.  
Any other ideas for me to search for her/George/their kids?  
Tried Pipl.com….
Nada

The search for George was on again…

1930 U.S. census

1940 U.S. census

Now what luck has to do with it…