A most welcome visit to Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines

I could have waited until September 25th to reblog this, but I  felt  too nostalgic  this Friday morning.

This is my very  first post on this blog which led me to write Ripples last  time…

This is a true story. Doris had asked me in September 2009 to translate what I had written on Nos ancêtres, my original blog about genealogy which is written  in French.

comp018

Our Ancestors

Post No. 1

Doris Chaumont is an amateur genealogist.

She’s the daughter of Léopold Chaumont who is the son of Rolland Chaumont, the son of Joseph Chaumont.

I had talked about Doris in an article on my blog about genealogy.

The man in the picture is Joseph Chaumont. He’s Doris’ great-grandfather. Joseph Chaumont left Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines  around 1910.

2009-09-1Joseph Chaumont Albertine Blouin et famille

Joseph Chaumont, Albertine Blouin and their children

This picture was taken in 1923 in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines. Doris’ grandfather, Rolland Chaumont, is the little boy behind Joseph.

Joseph Chaumont came here with his small family from Earlton in Ontario to pay a visit to his parents.

First I thought it was for his parents’ anniversary, but Moïse Chaumont and Marguerite Desjardins got married in 1880. I don’t see why people would celebrate their 43rd wedding anniversary…

This is the famous picture I had posted before on my blog. The picture was taken in 1923…

2009-09-1chaumont_2279672

1923

View original post 461 more words

Leave a Reply

