Finding my lost roots

If you have been reading this blog, you know I have ancestors who were living in Sault Ste. Marie in the 1700s.

Ojibwe woman

Kenogenini Mentosaky look alike…

This is an interesting Website where we can learn more about my lost roots.

Excerpt (in fact the whole page!)

The Anishinaabeg (which can mean ‘Original People’ or ‘Spontaneous Beings’) have lived in the Great Lakes area for millenia. Some of the oldest legends recall the ice packs breaking on Lake Nipissing and archeologists have found Anishinaabeg sites from 3000 B.C. Legends speak of immigrations to and from the Great Lakes over the centuries.

Sault Tribe’s ancestors were Anishinaabeg fishing tribes whose settlements dotted the upper Great Lakes around Lake Superior, Lake Michigan and Lake Huron, throughout the St. Marys River system and the Straits of Mackinac. Anishinaabeg gathered for the summers in places like Bahweting (Sault Ste. Marie) and broke up into family units for the winter.

They hunted, fished and gathered and preserved food for the winter. They were respectful to their elders and treasured their children. They conducted ceremonies for good health, thanksgiving, war, funerals and other things and strove to conduct their lives in a good way.

Anishinaabeg lived this way for hundreds of years until the arrival of European settlers in the 1600s. The Anishinaabeg had dealings with first the French, then the English, then the United States. The Anishinaabeg lifeway began to deteriorate as the people were placed on reservations, sent to boarding schools, along with other attempts to matriculate them into American mainstream society.

Enjoy the visit…

Footnote

1861 Canadian census

1861 Sault Ste Marie

Wife of Antoine Trudeau…

Marie Dufault, 89, born in Sault Ste-Marie.

2 thoughts on “Finding my lost roots

  1. Hello, Pierre, I’m one of your cousins many times removed through Celina Marineau. You, actually, e-mailed her death certificate to me a couple years ago. I’m in the process of finding her grave in Marlborough, MA. However, since the Catholic Churches in Marlborough have mostly been sold off, the records are now in the hands of Catholic Cemeteries Association. They cannot seem to find anyone I ask about. I’ll have to go stomping around the hallowed grounds myself, I guess. After reading this issue of your blog I have to ask what you know about the Micmac nation. I have Gaudet/Gaudette ancestors from Memramcook NB and was always told our family had an Indian princess in my maternal lineage. I did find a GGM many times removed from the Passamaquoddy nation in Maine on my dad’s side. Ironically, I attended mass on their reservation a few times near Perry, Maine, but didn’t know the link until this year. So, do you know anything about the Micmacs and/or relative to Bertrands or Gaudets?

    • I am sorry to say this is new to me.
      If you want to write something on the blog, I can publish it and see what evolves from it.
      My blog is always opened for people to contribute stories.

Leave a Reply

