I was searching everywhere for my ancestors…

I was searching everywhere for my ancestors but I had reached a dead end…

dead leaves on the ground

I was not going anywhere. I could not find my paternal ancestors, but I kept on looking, and looking, and looking.

detective

 

I was searching for all the Lagasses I could lay my hands on.

This is where I found this Pierre Lagasse who was married to Marceline Davies.

She died in 1906 from a heart disease.

death certificate Marcelline David

I felt like an adopted descendant.

So I got curious.

Little did I know back in 2008 that this Pierre Lagasse (I have the same name except at the end), born in 1825, was my great-great-grandfather’s brother.

He had married Marcelline David not Davies.

Curious?

marriage Pierre Lagassée

Looking at her death certificate I wondered who was that A. P. Lagasse, the undertaker.

I got curious some more and I found this picture on the Internet.

Adolphe Lagasse

 

That was the picture of Adolphe Pierre Lagasse, the undertaker who did the embalming of his mother Marcelline David…

Then I got even more curious when I found out that Adolphe Pierre Lagasse’s brother was Idala Lagasse. This is how Idala Lagasse led me to his granddaughter Alice who was looking for her roots since 2000…

Idala 1930

Leave a Reply

