John Molloy, Thomas James Malloy’s brother

This is not going to be a happy post.

In my ongoing search for Thomas James Molloy who married Philomene Alexandre, I contacted a Find a Grave member because he had this headstone.

It’s the headstone of John Molloy (Malloy) who was Thomas James Malloy’s brother. Maybe he was somewhat related to the Malloys so I wrote him a message.

I wanted permission to use it on Ancestry and on this blog.

John Molloy headstone

Little did I know that…

This is the biography he wrote..

To see contributors relying on eighty year old data based SOLELY upon what what was transcribed decades ago is not what I believe FAG is about. They duplicate memorials because the data they based their memorials upon is abundant with misspellings. Memorials that read Name “Unknown” — Date of Birth “Unknown” — Date of Death “Unknown” — Cemetery “Unknown.” What benefit is that entry to the viewer? Tens of thousands of memorials with a couple hundred photographs, and few if any links to family members to me signals a problem.

Considering this, I couldn’t agree more with the following statement a saw on a fellow contributor’s profile.

“I think it is a real shame what findagrave has evolved into. What started as a noble way to link people with graves of loved ones they could never hope to see, and with the generations that had preceded them, has turned into a game for some. Memorials have turned into a kind of “trading card”, a competition of who can own the most memorials and post the highest numbers. What has been forgotten by many is that these were people, loved in life and death, not a commodity to be traded or owned.
With my apologies to those that have pure motives. I hope there are more of us than there are of them.”

His widow is the one who contacted me.

Hi Pierre,
 
I am writing to inform you that John past away two months ago.  I am his wife and I do not have an issue with you using the picture or writing about what John wrote on your blog. 
 
Sincerely,
Johanne

6 thoughts on “John Molloy, Thomas James Malloy’s brother

  1. Wow. I have absolutely no idea who that person was and, yet, the fact of his recent passing deeply touched me. He was no doubt a kindhearted man, willing to help others find their loved ones. That alone makes him a special individual, in my book.

    • Same here Michel.

      I was touched by Johanne’s response.

      I had to post it and share her husband’s opinion about some people on FAG.

      Indeed he was something special.

  2. I have to agree with what he wrote, Pierre. I was preparing the memorial for a family member and when I went to add it to Find a Grave discovered that someone else had already entered a memorial but with no real information. I asked if they would transfer the memorial to me and was told no, it would reduce their collection of memorials. I would rather see the control of the memorials on Find a Grave in the hands of family members rather than collectors. It was a painful and sad realization that my family member was no longer mine in death and that their memorial was a just a way of counting coup and had no other meaning for the person in control of it.

    • I will put your comment in an upcoming post because most readers don’t read the comments.

      Thanks for commenting on this subject.

  3. Concerning the Malloy – Thomas Malloy who married Philomene Alexandre was the son of James Malloy and Catherine Burns. They came from Ireland sometime between 1858 and 1861 when James Died in Quebec. Thomas’s other siblings were Mary Malloy who married Michael McDonough
    Patrick Malloy who married Mary Jane Baker – sister of my Ancestor John Baker, Anna Malloy and John Malloy who married Sophronie Regneir

Leave a Reply

