Have you ever felt being abandoned by someone?

Note

This was to be posted tomorrow, but Patricia wrote me she can’t wait to read it…

Full speed ahead!

 

This is how I came about to write this blog and the reason I can’t stop writing for fear of abandoning you.

I have always felt that I was abandoned by my father, and I wanted to know why.

Patricia had the answer all along.

I started my journey back in July 2007 without knowing I was searching my ancestors for this reason, and I started writing about it in September 2009. I never wrote that much about my father on this blog as I wanted not to be disrespectful. That’s the lesson my father taught me in life even if life had taught him otherwise.

Patricia told me she had a wonderful father.

Francis Joseph Malloy

Francis Joseph Malloy
1909-1975

I wondered how Patricia felt with all the information I have been feeding her. I could feel it when she shared her feelings in this message. She told me I could post it.

Pierre,

I almost cannot explain the feelings I have surrounding this discovery.  My entire life, as long as I can remember anyway, has been spent in awe of this wonderful man who came from nothing and had no one.  His attitude toward life and love was something we could all benefit from.  I have always wanted to understand how someone could put a little boy in an orphanage and never see him again. The “whys” of it continue to haunt me.When he died, I promised myself I would try to find out his story and until now had hit brick walls.  I feel grateful to you and others who continued to pursue your searches and are kind enough to share.  I am grateful for Ancestry’s DNA match. Who knew I was 47% Irish.  I suspected daddy’s father might have come from Ireland based on our family name but had not been able to prove it.  I get almost giddy with the search. There is something new to discover at every turn and even small bits of information excite me.

Feelings:  excitement, gratitude, love, wonderment, surprise, thanksgiving and so much more.

It makes me want to jump on a plane and spend time in Quebec again to walk where they did and to meet these cousins I didn’t know I had.  Coming from such a small family, connections seem more important to me than ever.  Even if it is 3rd cousins.  Perhaps at 68 I am getting more conscious of time constraints. 
 
Thank you,
 
Pat

Footnote

My father died on August 27, 1995.

5 thoughts on “Have you ever felt being abandoned by someone?

  1. Patricia,

    That was a really touching note you sent to Pierre. He, too, enlightened me on my ancestors of recent and less recent memory with the result that I now feel less ill informed in that department because of his persistent work. Like I posted a while ago, I met Pierre in college close to 50 years ago and, at the time, he was into astrology charts, BIG TIME. He devoted the same level of energy in the late 60s constructing those charts than he does today erecting those family trees. And he does this, today, for the same reason he did 50 years ago: out of altruism. I hope Pierre brought you (and, hopefully, will continue to bring you) what you had been looking for.

Leave a Reply

