How I met your ancestors? – Episode Five: East Bristol around 1916

I have to start somewhere don’t I?

Bristol circa 1916 seems a good place to start.

original picture of the Lagasse family

Imagine I am a young photographer taking this picture. I would be a family member, and I would be just starting a new career in photography..

Why not immortalize these people with “Pepere”…

original picture of the Lagasse family

Original picture from old photo album of someone’s private collection

Sometimes meeting your ancestors will fall short on expectations.

This was something that was not meant to be…

Using this picture?

Please contact me if you use this picture. I don’t mind sharing. I appreciate the fact that you ask first.

This is what I wrote on my “private” family tree on Ancestry with this picture.

Some members I have invited had reposted this picture on their “public” tree, and some other people on Ancestry were using it without asking first. I wish they would contact me because I know much more about these people than most people do, and I am willing to share all for FREE.

This being said, How I met your ancestors? has a lot of anecdotes I want to share with Rosh, my new addicted reader.

The little girl in front of the group picture is little Germaine Lagasse. She was the daughter of Victor Philippe Lagasse and Alice D. Myers. Little did I know in 2009 that Alice D. Myers was a direct descendant of Chrétien Lemaire, a Hesse-Hanau rifleman, nor that Harry Lagasse’s son would die in a plane crash in 1935.

Curious?

This picture would have be taken in the spring of 1916.

East Bristol 1916

Little Germaine was born in 1914. I have June 29, 1914 in my notes as a birthdate, but I can’t validate that information and probably never will. I don’t know who was the photographer. Probably my great-grandfather took it since he was still alive and well in 1916, and he is not on it.

Dennis Lagasse II  

Dennis Lagasse IV’s private collection

Or maybe his granddaughter Odna Lagasse took it because she is not on it either.

four generations Amanda Odna Doris Donna

Donna’s private collection (Odna in the back on the left, her mother Amanda Ménard sitting)

How I met little Germaine Lagasse is how I met the man whose mother stopped sharing her old pictures. I could never understand what went wrong with that virtual relationship. Maybe they thought I was a little bit too excited about their ancestors. I sent them messages to understand if I had done something wrong.

I never got any reply.

This is little Germaine again although she is a little younger. It was also part of the collection of old pictures.

Germaine LagasseSomeone’s private collection

Germaine was the man’s grandmother.

At first he seemed very interested about his ancestors. I could have helped him a lot to identify most of the people on that picture: Victor Philippe Lagasse, Amanda Ménard, Ida Lagasse, Rose Elmira Lagasse, Alice D. Myers, Bertha Lagasse, Levi Napoleon Lagasse, Joseph Lagasse, Dennis “Pepere” Lagasse, Harry Lagasse, Harvey Lagasse, and Hector Lamothe.

East Bristol 1916

Win some, lose some…

It’s like saying “NO”, and closing the door on your ancestors.

SO, it was not meant to be.

I hope to see you next Monday for episode six of How I met your ancestors?.

Harvey-Mae-Stanislas-Victor

Harvey Lagasse, Mae Cox, Dennis “Pepere” Lagasse, and Victor Philippe Lagasse

If not, you will be missing a lot!

Footnote

four generations of Lagasse

Dennis Lagasse II, Dennis (Pepere) Lagassey III, Harry Lagasse and his son Gerard
(collection Sandy
)

This picture is somewhat important since Pepere is my grandfather’s brother.

My grandfather never talked to me once in my lifetime. He died in 1964 when I was 14. He was not deaf and dumb. He just did not talk. The first recollection I have of my grandfather is of an old man in the 1950s. He was suffering from asthma which explained the odd smell in the house. He had had a heart attack, but I did not know it until my aunt told me in 2011. He drank a lot. That I could figure it out for myself.

Having had a grandfather who never talked to his grandson is the main reason why I have been writing that much on this blog. To have him talk about his family he probably never talked about to anyone in his life.

acte de deces leo lagace senior

10 thoughts on “How I met your ancestors? – Episode Five: East Bristol around 1916

  1. I love when you talk about the Lagasse family as you know that is my family and we share some of the same family members. I so appreciate you’re tracing all of this. I’ve learned so much and it brings some memories to me. Thank you!

  2. Documentation for Germaine’s birth on 29 June 1914 is: Mary A. G. LaGasse, birth certificate no. 200 (1914), Clerk’s Office, City Hall, Bristol, Connecticut. I extracted the information from the original document. Back in 2000-2003 when I was visiting my aunt in Bristol or a cousin in Plainville I always tried to get to the Bristol’s City Hall and the Library. When I first went I worked from an index culling all the info on surnames I was investigating, which was great as birth index had parents names. I have a copy of her obit on my computer and will email it to you next week if you wish.

Leave a Reply

