How I met your ancestors? – Episode Three: August 9, 1842

Now back to our normal scheduled program…

This marriage certificate was the link to all that I have found about your ancestors since 2009.

1912 marriage

Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish registers

1912 marriage 2

Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish registers

Stanislas Lagacé was my grandfather’s father, but Maria Landry was not my grandmother. She was my grandfather’s first wife seen here with her family.

famille Landry

Maria is in the first row on the left. Maria did not die and my grandfather had not remarried. My grandfather left here in the 1920s. He was kind of forced to leave.

That story has been told at length on this blog.

Stanislas Lagacé and Henriette Alexandre were my grandfather’s parents.

With this I was able to find all about Dennis Lagasse and Henriette’s 12 other children.

Dennis Lagasse II

It was then I had the brillant idea of creating Our Ancestors to try to contact distant relatives.

Sometimes getting too excited about your ancestors is not such a good thing.

original picture of the Lagasse family

4 thoughts on “How I met your ancestors? – Episode Three: August 9, 1842

    • One thing is that my grandfather told the priest his father was a contractor in Bristol, Connecticut…

      That was a lie. Dennis Lagasse II was a laborer.
      Finding out that your grandfather had a life full of lies has made me understood about my father.

    • Also… feue Henriette Alexandre meant that my great-grandmother was dead before 1912.

      And I found when and where… after in 2012.
      Joe knew but he thought I already knew!

      He had this in his file…

      Notes for Henriette Alexandre:

      An Obituary in the 19 September 1907 issue of the Bristol Press reads:

      “MRS. HENRIETTA A. LAGASS”

      Mrs. Henrietta A., wife of Dennis Lagasse, died at her home on Lake Avenue about four o’clock yesterday afternoon, after an illness of a few weeks. She was 62 years of age and is survived by her husband and several sons and daughters, among whom is Supernumerary Policeman Adlore Lagasse. The arrangements for the funeral had not been completed this morning.”

Leave a Reply

