How I met your ancestors? – Episode Two: September 16, 1912

I wish I could show you the wedding picture of my grandfather’s wedding to Maria Landry. I have many wedding pictures that have been shared by my readers, but none of my grandfather and his first wife.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I only have his marriage certificate to show you where H. Alexandre’s name was found.

1912 marriage

Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish registers

1912 marriage 2

Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish registers

My great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé’s name was also there. It is written fils majeur de Stanislas Lagacé, contracteur, et de feue Henriette Alexandre, de Bristol, Connecticut.

My grandfather started talking to me for the first time in his life. I should say 45 years after his death.

Strange?

I can’t recall my grandfather had ever talked to me during his lifetime, and surely not about Bristol in Connecticut.

Monopoly

What was stranger though was that his new wife Maria Landry was not my grandmother!

Pierre 039

What about that for a surprise…!

How could it be?

How this little boy on his tricycle went on a journey through time to meet your ancestors will continue next week, same time, same station.

Footnote

Am I writing only short posts so I know you will be enticed to come back next Monday?

No, I am on vacation for the summer which might go on until September 17, 1907 when I will tell you more about Alphonse Earl Gosselin’s and Rose Clara Maynard’s ancestors.

Rose and Alphonse

2 thoughts on “How I met your ancestors? – Episode Two: September 16, 1912

  1. En vacances jusqu’au 17 septembre 1907? Es-tu remonté dans ta machine à reculer dans le temps, par hasard?

Leave a Reply

