Good morning Mr. Phelps

 

mission impossible

Good morning Mr. Phelps…

The mission, should you decide to accept it, is to find the parents of Stephen Dague aka Étienne Daigle…

Stephen Dague died in 1923…

Stephen Dague death certificate

Many misleading information have been spread around the Internet about his ancestors. His father is said to have been Stephen Dague and his mother Margaret LaFrance from Moscow, Quebec, but we believe he was born in or around St-Hyacinthe where the Yamaska river flows.

Proceed with extreme caution…

As always, should you or any of your I.M. Force be caught or killed, or laughed at, the Secretary will disavow any knowledge of your actions…

 

 mission match

Was Stephen Dague born on March 2, 1827 as told by the informant and as entered in a death certificate in Burlington, Vermont?

Precisely on exactly his 96th birthday?

Where could I find proof of when Stephen Dague was really born?

The parish registers pages for March 1827 in Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish in St-Hyacinthe of course!

These two parish registers images came from Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish in St-Hyacinthe where the Yamaska river flows. That’s the clue I am working on right now.

As you can see Stephen or Étienne is nowhere to be found on these two pages. On the other hand Étienne Daigle could have been baptized elsewhere in the Yamaska region, or he could have been born in Notre-Dame-du-Rosaire parish in St-Hyacinthe but before or after 1827.

Guess what?

1830 Étienne Daigle

Étienne Daigle was born on March 28, 1830.

1830 Étienne Daigle zoom

He was the son of Étienne Daigle, a laborer, and of Marguerite Messier

His godfather was Pierre Daigle, and his godmother was Charlotte Fontaine

mission possible

I could tell who was Pierre Daigle and Charlotte Fontaine, but remember what I said…

Start small, start slow…

6 thoughts on “Good morning Mr. Phelps

    • I just followed Judi’s hint.
      Moscow, Quebec… and played with it a little.
      What people don’t know is that I found the information last night around 11 PM.

      Now what to do with all this information about the Daigle family…

      Just spreading it around on cyberspace.

    • Proper documentation indeed.

      Even though there might be errors in these documents one has to dig deeper.

      And even then…

      Some people find out later in life that they have been adopted and never knew about it, or that their mother was not their real mother but in fact their aunt, and their aunt was the real one…

  1. My father once told me in a moment of rage that I was not his son.
    I am sure my mother is my mother. She would have told me.
    She would also have told me about my real father if my father had not been my real father.

    This is how I am sure I am a proud descendant of Dennis Lagasse aka Stanislas Lagacé, and that we are distant cousins.

    Always nice when you write a comment.

    Have a very nice day.

    Pierre

Leave a Reply

