Sometimes people never write again

Judi wrote a comment two days ago. I told her I was going to write her a personal e-mail, but I changed my mind.

Sometimes people never write again after a comment or two.

This happened to me many times, and I don’t quite understand why peole would bother in the first place to write a comment on this blog.

I did not receive any more comment or message from Judi until two days ago… (edited version of comment)

Hello Pierre,  

I’ve been under the weather the last few days and haven’t had a chance to check my e-mail until now.  
This has got to be the best day.  
From the bottom of my heart I thank you for this detective work.  
I am well aware that other’s need your help too, and I thank them also.

I will fill you in from this side backwards and I hope we will meet in the middle.
I am… daughter of … (born in 1908)
son of Lydia Ida Dague… (born 11/10/1867)
 and …  (born(8/1862)  

Lydia’s parents were Stephen Dague (born 3/2/1827 in Canada) and Mary Ann (Marion) Dube (born 2/13/1837 in Canada)  
Mary Ann’s parents were Abram Dube and Jane Olive Bear.
I have no info on Abram and Jane.

Stephen’s parents were Stephen Dague and Margaret(Marguerite) LaFrance from the Moscow Quebec area.
I am afraid that’s all I have except that my dad always said that grandma could speak no English and that she came from a place called Richelieu.

Have a good night.

Judi

I always sleep good at night Judi… and I always take good care of my readers.

As a footnote

Yesterday’s post was to prove a point. There is so much information in cyberspace that’s it’s hard not to get lost.

Getting back to Judi she had written this… from the Moscow Quebec area!!!

It got me thinking.

Could this be a lead to follow?

But there is no Moscow in Quebec.

Was Moscow, when you repeat it several times in your head, be Mascouche? Maska for Yamaska? the Maskoutain region?

So many clues that can lead us to dead ends in genealogy… I should know because I have been there so many times.

This search might never end…, but I don’t mind when people keep interested in what I write about Our Ancestors, yours or mine. Now I shall return on Monday and tell you all about Stephen Dague and Margaret(Marguerite) LaFrance.

I think I know who they really were.

32 thoughts on “Sometimes people never write again

    • I can…
      Remember I live in Quebec and I am French-Canadian.
      It’s easy,
      I would be completely lost if someone would ask me about his ancestors in Texas.

  1. Perhaps you are onto something there, Pierre. My great-grandfather lived in an area in Tennessee called Eusebia (You-SEE-Be-Ah). In the 1890 Veteran’s Census, the census taker spelled it “Ucebe” (You-SEE-Be), typically dropping parts of words like we do in East Tennessee, and spelling phonetically.

    • I think I found Judi’s Dague ancestors.
      You can’t take all that you find on the Internet as valid information.
      You have to dig much deeper as you will see about Margaret Lafrance.

  2. Hi Pierre,
    Genealogy is one addiction that there is no cure!! So glad that you have it because you have helped many, many people (including me) to find family connections. Keep up the great work and have a nice weekend. Susan

    • Help!
      Pun intended.
      Sometimes we have to watch out not to be carried away by this addiction.

      Thanks to be addicted to this blog which is another addiction.

  3. For me , I am just going to say BAM! for now and put my hand back in the cookie jar while I wait to read what he’s going to write next week …… lol , Happy long weekend every one .

    • Then I won’t write until next Tuesday for my Canadian friends.
      Back tomorrow for all the others.

  4. Hi Pierre,

    I am looking forward to Monday. I would like to run something by you if I may? Does it not seem reasonable to you that the Dubies and the Dagues came from the same area? I am thinking this way after 2 years of hitting my head against a constant stone wall. A light bulb went on in my head like “duh” Stephen and Mary Ann and Abram and Jane’s families both came to Chittenden Vt at or about the same year 1830-1835. Was it a custom to travel as a family unit to the U.S.? So where ever you have been able to locate Stephen and Margaret, I may very well find Abram and Jane’s families?

    I feel like they are so lost to me and I have a real burning desire to know about my history and I am a person who loves a good mystery.

    Thanks,

    Judi

  5. Hello again Pierre!

    I thought that if there are any Dubias that may be connected to my Abram they might like to know that he had a son Pierre(Peter) who served in our Civil War. He enlisted on Sept 10 1862 with the 13th Vt co. E Inf. from Williston, Vt. He was at Gettysburg. He was born about 1835-37. My brother is a Civil War re-enactor who has a book all about the 13th and I have asked him to find out what other campaigns the 13th were at as we know he was wounded. He mustered out July 21 1863 at Brattleboro Vt.

    I hope this might be of interest to someone.

    Thanks,

    Judi

    • That part about the Civil War will be the appropriate sequel to all this…
      I have written about the Civil War on the blog.

    • I had done a little research on the Internet and I had found this message left on a Website…

      Hello Vermont

      My name Is Dan Hrlic and I am looking fo Info on a Peter Dubia and Laura Banes or Barney.
      Peter was my greatgreatgrandfather on mom side from Williston, Vermont and westmister also Tiltion New Hamshire area.

      Laura remaried a Joseph Roberts

      children of Peter and Laura

      Born Died Maried

      Fredrick 4-01-1869 10-15-1869

      Angie 6-19-1870 ? Jack Johshon

      William Colby

      Julia 4-16-1872 11-04-1886

      Abraham 5-25-1874 Linda Brake change from Furige

      Mathilda 9-27-1875 6-1954 Louis Lavinge

      Freddie 3-19-1878 5-02-1960

      John 7-29-1880 5-08-1959 Josephine Clairmount

      Clara 6-05-1883 1972 Andy Olsen

      Frank 8-21-1885 Laura weeks

      Lewis 12-09-1889 12-12-1889

      Hellen 3-24-1891 1972 James Broughy

      If any one has any info please me at dhrlic@yahoo.com

      Thank You

      Dan Hrlic

      Cemetery Database

      Virtual CemeteryDubia, Peter

      MILITARY SERVICE:

      Age: 25, credited to Williston, VT

      Unit(s): 13th VT INF

      Service: enl 9/10/62, m/i 10/10/62, Pvt, Co. F, 13th VT INF, m/o 7/21/63

      See Legend below for expansion of abbreviations

      VITALS:

      Birth: 1837, Canada

      Death: 1898

      Burial: Saint Patricks Cemetery, Newport, NH

      ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

      Remarks: None

      May include siblings or parent who were soldiers, location of death vs. burial, etc.

      Pension?: Yes, widow Laura, minor

      Photograph: Unknown

      Gravestone Findagrave Memorial #: 0

      Cenotaph Findagrave Memorial #: 0

      If there is anything besides a zero (0) here, click on the number; there may be additional information available there (also, if we have a photo, there is not a dedicated effort to find/locate Memorials, if we don’t have one, please send it)

      Marker/Plot: Not recorded

      Gravestone researcher/photographer: Heidi McColgan

      Cenotaph researcher/photographer:

      DESCENDANTS

      Great Grandfather of Brian Dubia, Franklin, NH

      Great Granduncle of Judi Bough, Cortland, NY

      Are you a descendant, but not listed? Register today.

  6. Hi Pierre,

    You are so right. START SMALL-START SLOW.

    I tried to connect with Dan Hrlic but he no longer is with Yahoo.
    But by doing so I have found out that Peter Dubia is supposed to have married a Canadian Indian Princess named Laura Barney. This just seems bizarre to me.
    How about you?
    Also the first names that were given to children in these two families (Dague-Dubie) are repeated over and over again by brothers and sisters, with an occasional odd name thrown in.
    They also seem to have been a close group because when I track a Dubie to a place a Dague relative shows up there too. It truly is a small world.
    Judi

    • Lagasses and Dubés were also a close-knit bunch.
      Birds of a feather stick together.
      When you start small and slow that what’s you find out.
      People would stay close to each other. You can see that on the censuses.
      About given names, most of the time the first born child would get the grandfather’s or grandmother’s first name.
      Not all the time.
      Searching for ancestors is fun like playing video games.
      About Indian blood, I don’t know why people always want to have Indian blood. Not that I mind.
      I have some sort of. Two of my ancestors were little Americans kidnapped in Deerfield in 1704 and raised by aboriginal people before priests took charge of them to become interpreters.

  7. Hello,
    I came across this discussion online and wanted to see if there is perhaps any connection or information on my great-great grandfather? He was a Dubia from Bolton VT and may have been related to Peter Dubia who served in the Civil War. His daughter, Florence, abandon my grandmother when she was young, thus we know very, very little about this side of the family. The information is as follows:

    John E. Dubia
    Birth: 1865
    Bolton
    Chittenden County
    Vermont, USA
    Death: Mar. 25, 1949
    West Springfield
    Hampden County
    Massachusetts, USA
    Wife Julia 1887-1955

    • I will look at my files in my family tree and get back later.
      Please comment on this just to let me know you have read it.

      Pierre

      • I have not found the link, but I found more on Florence’s family. Her mother was Julia Germain and she had brothers and sisters.

        Keep in touch.

    • I have this person…

      Peter Dubia

      Born 1838 in La Visitation, Île-Dupas, Berthier, Québec, Canada

      Died: 1895

      His wife was Laura Barnes.

      I will look on Family Search for more information.

    • We have this family in 1930

      https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/XQG6-L29

      Name: John E Dubia
      Titles and Terms:
      Event Type: Census
      Event Year: 1930
      Event Place: Springfield, Hampden, Massachusetts, United States
      District: 0212
      Gender: Male
      Age: 65
      Marital Status: Married
      Race: White
      Race (Original): White
      Relationship to Head of Household: Head
      Relationship to Head of Household (Original): Head
      Birth Year (Estimated): 1865
      Birthplace: Vermont
      Immigration Year:
      Father’s Birthplace: Vermont
      Mother’s Birthplace: Vermont
      Sheet Number and Letter: 4B
      Household ID: 82
      Line Number: 78
      Affiliate Name: The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
      Affiliate Publication Number: T626
      Affiliate Film Number: 909
      GS Film number: 2340644
      Digital Folder Number: 004607006
      Image Number: 00275

      Household Role Gender Age Birthplace
      John E Dubia Head M 65 Vermont
      Julia Dubia Wife F 63 Massachusetts
      Gilbert P Dubia Son M 21 Massachusetts
      Archibald J Dubia Son M 20 Massachusetts

      Citing this Record:
      “United States Census, 1930,” index and images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/XQG6-L29 : accessed 15 Jul 2014), John E Dubia, Springfield, Hampden, Massachusetts, United States; citing enumeration district (ED) 0212, sheet 4B, family 82, NARA microfilm publication T626, roll 909.

    • I would say there is a strong possibility this John is the son of Peter and Laura Barnes.

      I will look into this.

      • I’m very impressed with how quickly you were able to turn this information around Pierre! Thank you very much. I have done extensive research on the Dubias but most of it is from when they moved to Ware, MA from Vermont. I have tracked down a few relatives but no one who knew much about Florence our very own black sheep (her trail goes cold after she runs off to NYC with her lover Frank Shea). The difference in dates for Julia Germain (have seen it as Germaine and German too) is that it was also her mothers name. So you may have come across dates for mother and daughter. I do recall great-great-grandmother Julia had a brother and sister. I was hoping that we’d be related to Peter Dubia and appreciate the clarification! I think it is time to travel to Bolton VT to see if I can uncover anything further. Thank you again.

      • I can invite you on my Ancestry tree to view what I have found.

        Is this your username?

        kristenkellner72

      • As a footnote to all this…

        Maybe Joseph Dubia, the father of John E., is the Joseph Dubé I have in my tree. I have him listed as been born in 1828 instead of 1825 as seen in the 1880 U.S. Census. Censuses are known to be off about birthyears.

    • On Find A Grave Julia is said to have been born in 1887. I am sure this is an error. I found Julia in the 1900 Census and 1930 censuses. She was born around 1867.

      I have found other children of John and Julia Germain. I am sure these people are who you are looking for.

      The problem is linking them to Peter Dubia and Laura Barnes.

    • I have found this in my notes.
      John E. Dubia is not related to Peter Dubia.

      These are the notes…

      Hello Vermont

      My name Is Dan Hrlic and I am looking fo Info on a Peter Dubia and Laura Banes or Barney.

      Peter was my greatgreatgrandfather on mom side from Williston, Vermont and westmister also Tiltion New Hamshire area.

      Laura remaried a Joseph Roberts

      children of Peter and Laura

      Born Died Maried

      Fredrick 4-01-1869 10-15-1869

      Angie 6-19-1870 ? Jack Johshon

      William Colby

      Julia 4-16-1872 11-04-1886

      Abraham 5-25-1874 Linda Brake change from Furige

      Mathilda 9-27-1875 6-1954 Louis Lavinge

      Freddie 3-19-1878 5-02-1960

      John 7-29-1880 5-08-1959 Josephine Clairmount

      Clara 6-05-1883 1972 Andy Olsen

      Frank 8-21-1885 Laura weeks

      Lewis 12-09-1889 12-12-1889

      Hellen 3-24-1891 1972 James Broughy

      Thank You

      Dan Hrlic

  8. I have just found John E Dubia’s marriage certificate. Once again he was from Bolton, VT (b. 1865) and his parents are listed as Joseph and Celine “Duby”. I feel a great accomplishment that I found this but can’t find any other leads so I thought I’d try you again!

Leave a Reply

