Agnes Lagaser – Wife of Leon Saucier – Redux

This is what started this neverending story.

I am reposting it because someone answered my call for the headstones she posted on Find A Grave.

Lisa took those pictures and she allowed me to post them on the blog.

 

Collection Lisa H.

She took those pictures in Mount Calvary Cemetery, a cemetery in New Hampshire.

Click here for a virtual visit.

These pictures were a great help in finding Irene’s ancestors and descendants.

Irene Wilcox

Collection Jason West

Irene was the daughter of Adélard or Théodore Turcotte who changed his name to Wilcox. I don’t know why Adélard Turcotte used that name since it does not sound a bit like Turcotte.

Maybe it does if you say Turcotte fast enough.

This being said, start reading the old post I wrote back in December when I first contacted Jason, and make sense of all this.

Original post

My blog is really like a TV Reality Show.

I seldom plan anything in advance as I start writing about something I found about your ancestors or mine.

You have to trust me on this.

Trust is everything in life.

This was the first headstone my third cousin Joe saw entering St. Joseph Church Cemetery in Bristol, Connecticut. 

Photo5237

Collection Pierre Lagacé

Honest to God!

I had not noticed that headstone at first.

Agnes Lagasse

We were just going there to find French-Canadian names on headstones which is our favorite pastime.

The name Agnes Lagaser on that headstone sounded familiar. Could it be a long lost relative of mine?

So back at Joe’s place we looked for Leon Saucier in the 1900 U.S. Census.

Lo and behold!

1900 Leon Saucier family

1900 U.S. Census

Leon Saucier was there with Agnes and her two sons, Arthur Myers and Henry Myers. Olive Saucier, most probably Leon’s daughter he had with his first wife, was also part of that family.

1900 Saucier family

A whole bunch of Lagasses lived also in the same neighborhood. 

Just trust me on this.

My great-grandfather Dennis Lagasse II with Henriette Alexandre, Harriet in the 1900 census, were there with my grandfather Leo, 11 years old, at school, and his brother Adélard (Adlore) working at New Departure in the electro plating department.

famille Lagacé 1900

But getting back to the Saucier family…

Back from my genealogical expedition in Connecticut, I was able to find more information on one of Agnes’s son: Arthur Joseph Myers’ marriage with Eva Rock in 1915.

marriage Myers Rock

This new artefact opened up a new door…

Pique by curiosity, I just had to peek inside.

End of the original post

I hope this helped you a little about what is going to follow next time.

One thought on “Agnes Lagaser – Wife of Leon Saucier – Redux

Leave a Reply

