Meet the Turcottes

French-Canadians emigrating to the U.S. would sometimes change their names to integrate in their new country. I know my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé became Dennis Lagasse when he emigrated to the U.S. in 1889.

cropped-picture-from-dennis-2.jpg

Dennis and two of his grandchildren Harvey and Rose

Collection Dennis Lagasse IV

I believe most people did changed their names most of the time. Lemaires became Myers, Alexandres became Alexanders, Dufresnes became Ashleys, Saurettes became Laroses , Villeneuves became Newcitys, etc…

Adelard Wilcox’s name was in fact Adélard Turcotte. He emigrated to the U.S. in 1893. Don’t ask me how I know he emigrated in 1893, you can trust me with this information…

I know he did.

Adélard is seen here with his wife Éva Croteau. 

39a

Collection Jason West

Jason had more pictures of the Wilcoxes or should I say the Turcottes.

The Turcottes are seen here with Arthur Myers, a descendant of Chrétien Lemaire, and his wife Rose Alma La Rose, a descendant of Jacques Saurette and Catherine Laporte dit St-Georges.

 

40a

Collection Jason West

I wonder if Rose Alma knew about her ancestor.

Rose Alma is dancing here on the next picture with Jack Wilcox who I suspect is Jack Turcotte, the son of Adélard and Eva.

 

31a

Collection Jason West

 

Because people changed their names is the reason why it is so hard for people living in the U.S. to make sense of their roots when they start looking for them.

How about this old man?

21aCollection Jason West

He is with Agnes Myers one of the daughters of Arthur and Rose Alma.

Try to find Arthur and Rose Alma in this group picture just for fun.

4a

Collection Jason West

I had lots of fun looking for Irene Wilcox whom we see here with Exeurie Myers on a picture taken on May 10, 1929.
30a

Collection Jason West

I love those captions!
33a

Collection Jason West

They enabled me to find Irene Wilcox’s husband, George Morse.

32a

Collection Jason West

Such a lovely couple who I believe got married that day. I am not 100% sure, but I would bet a Canadian dollar which is losing value again the U.S. dollar.

During last weekend I had a good look at Jason’s pictures and I found several headstones on Find A Grave. I wrote some people about the Wilcoxes or the Turcottes to let them know I had pictures to share with them if interested.

You never know when someone will get crazy over Jason West’s collection of old pictures.

3 thoughts on “Meet the Turcottes

  1. Thanks for the link to my site at Saurette.com. Most of the research I’ve done on the Saurette surname has shown that most kept the Saurette name. While there are entire lines who went with Larose or La Rose, I believe the majority stayed with Saurette. I know my own personal lineage did. The end of the Saurette name in my family was with my great-grandmother, Marie-Anna Saurette.

    Steve Rock

    • Hi Steve,

      Thanks for your comment.

      I should have found your Website sooner. I had a hard time finding Joseph Saurette dit Larose lineage, because I had no idea some Laroses were Saurettes.

      Now the pictures are much more interesting to those related to Joseph.

      You have a very well-made Website.

      • I’m glad you found things on my site useful. I haven’t done much with it in a while. I seem to go in fits and starts. In one of those lulls for a while now.

        It was neat to look at that picture of the Larose people – always nice to put faces to names.

Leave a Reply

