Alyce, Sweet Alyce: Redux

Not another redux post again!

Don’t worry, I won’t post more than one post a week for the time being on this blog. I don’t want to confuse you with the Cayos from Wisconsin.

I wrote this post before Steve Myers found out all about Chrétien Lemaire who deserted his post in 1780.

Steve added this interesting comment yesterday.

I can’t say I’m surprised he deserted. We Myers’ have always been too independent for our own good!

Steve Myers has some catching up to do on this blog, but I don’t want him to read all the 629 posts I wrote since September 2009.

At first I was a little bit afraid that I might have scared him away from all this research I have done on his Myers ancestors.

This post was to have been sort of a starter so Steve would have known that I am not a crazy Canuck hooked on genealogy who is trying to find rich relatives in the U.S. or sell him coffee mugs with his ancestors’ coat-of-arms.

coat of arms 1

This was the story I wrote of Alyce LaGasse’s quest for her ancestors.

I wrote it in 2010. The story is quite amazing and I am still pinching myself when I think about it. Alyce is also pinching herself and she is sometimes flummoxed by all the research I have done.

Alyce was the first distant cousin in the U.S. to find me. Strangely enough Alyce is also a third cousin once removed like Steve, and she is not scared a bit.

Start reading Alyce Sweet Alyce…

This is no horror story…

In fact I don’t like watching horror movies.

“Sweet Alice”, that’s what I called her, reminded of something so I checked on the Internet just to be sure.You find a lot of things on the Internet… like my blog on genealogy.

Alyce has won the jackpot and she won big.

Aly1

In my search for descendants of my great-great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé, I had found a brother, Pierre Lagacé, who had married Marcelline David.

Tammy Middleton and Alyce LaGasse were the only two persons to ask for help in finding their roots.

Pierre Lagacé, born in 1825, was their common ancestor. Tammy was looking for family ties with this unknown chef.

1126emeril2

Alyce is the granddaughter of Idala Lagacé who was also known as Idala Lagassé, Idala Lagossi and Idola Lagasse.

Both Idala and Ambroise were Pierre Lagacé’s and Marcelline David’s sons. Idala was Alyce’s grandfather and Ambroise was Tammy’s children’s great-great-grandfather.

Tammy never returned my e-mails, but Alyce was all excited.

Oh my goodness… what a surprise to find a follow-up – yes, even if I discovered this 6 months later and the post was . . . 10 years ago.

My interest is renewed – I do have relatives somewhere!

Yes, as per your blog, I am alive :) 🙂 and would love to know more.

Please!

Pierre Lagacé (we share the same given name) married Marcelline David on February 4, 1850 in Notre-Dame-des-Anges church in Notre-Dame-de-Stanbridge, a small picturesque village in Missisquoi county just north of Lake Champlain.

Notre-Dame-des-Anges Church built in 1893

I knew all about Idala Lagasse with the help of parish records and censuses. It was so easy to find Alyce’s ancestors.

1871 Canadian Census

Name: Idola Lagassé
Gender: Male
Age in years: 1
Estimated birth year: 1870
Birthplace: Quebec
Marital status:
Origin (Ancestry): Francaise
Religion: Catholique
Census place: 02, Stanbridge i, Missisquoi 125, Quebec

1901 Canadian Census

Farmer

Lagossi Idala     M Head          M  Mar 1     1870     31
Lagossi Albina     F Wife          M  Mar 24     1872     29
Lagossi Rose     F Daughter    S  Jan 1     1894     7
Lagossi Parmilias     F Daughter    S  Dec 3     1894     6

1920 U.S. Census

Name: Idala A Lagasse
Residence: Part Of Precinct 9 New Bedford Part Of Ward 3, Bristol, Massachusetts
Estimated birth year: 1871
Age in years: 49
Birthplace: Canada
Relationship to head-of-household: Self
Gender: Male
Race or color (on document): White
Marital status: Widowed

But I had no pictures to show her!

Alyce told me she had a picture of Idala with his sons.

I just couldn’t wait to see how he looked.

stop

Back in 2010, Alyce LaGasse knew nothing about her Lagacé roots.

She started looking for old pictures she once thought throwing away in the garbage.

She looked and looked and looked. And Alyce found them and shared everything so other descendants of Idala Lagasse might one day find this blog and see how their ancestors looked like.

Idala 1930

Idala Lagasse

Identification of Idala's sons

Idala’s five sons

band of brothers

Idala’s five sons

Idola & Fils012

Idala and four of his five sons

So now Steve, you should know me better.

I wish I had a beautiful picture of the church where Julien Myers and Agnès Lagacé were married on July 13, 1869 instead of this one built in 1893.

Stanbridge 2008 062

I would have wished you had old pictures of people you know nothing about. I would have been a great help in finding who was who.

5 thoughts on “Alyce, Sweet Alyce: Redux

  1. Pierre, you haven’t scared me off in the least! I continue to read your blog with great interest. I wish I had some pictures to share with you, but sadly I haven’t found any. I’m currently helping my parents clean out their house, and I have my fingers crossed that I might find something that will be of use to you in your search for our ancestors. If you like, I can take a picture of my grandfather’s Navy sword for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

