Jean-Baptiste Lemaire, the only son of Chrétien Lemaire

Finally the intermission is over!

During that intermission I was able to validate my information about Chrétien Bracmaer aka Chrétien Lemeyère aka Chrétien Lemaire, and arrive at the conclusion that he is Steve’s ancestor.

Infanterie_Regiment_von_Donop_-_officer_and_private_1783

Chrétien, tell me more about your family roots…

His only son Jean-Baptiste Lemaire, born around 1784, married Marie Paquet on November 7, 1808 in Chambly, Quebec. Both his parents are listed as late Chrétien Lemeyère and late Josephte Lagarde.

marriage Jean-Baptiste Lemaire Marie Paquet full page

Josephte had died in 1785.

1785 burial Josephte Vincent 30 November 1785

I looked for Chrétien’s burial act in the parish registers but I could not find it.

We will now take a look at the marriages of the children of Jean-Baptiste Lemaire and Marie Paquet: three sons, Jean-Baptiste, Julien, Médard, and one daughter, Onésime.

Jean-Baptiste Lemaire married Clarisse Masson, Julien Lemaire married Léocadie David, Médard Lemaire married Émilie Therrien, and Onésime Lemaire married Napoléon Brault.

Remember that name.

Photo5229

Médard Lemeyer, born on November 2, 1813, became known later in life as Medard Myers and he is Steve’s ancestor.
1813 Médard Lemayer 2 novembre

 

1813 Médard Lemayer 2 novembre zoom

To be continued next Monday.

8 thoughts on “Jean-Baptiste Lemaire, the only son of Chrétien Lemaire

  1. My ancestor Jean-Baptiste Lemaire married Marie-Madeleine Darche at St. Joseph in Chambly in 1786.

    He was born in Besancon, Doubs, Franche Comté circa 1753, son of Joseph or Claude Joseph Lemaire and Jeanne Costille. Tradition says he was with the French Troops under Rochambeau along with a brother Claude (Marie) Lemaire and uncle Laurent Costille.

    Claude returned to France via Barbados.
    JB and uncle went on to Canada.

    I am writing this as I had a researcher insists JB was Chretien’s son. I know there were two JBs in Chambly at this time.

    Thanks for reading.

    Richard

    • Vous avez entièrement raison.
      Je vais regarder encore mes fichiers pour en reparler.

      You’re completely right. I will look up again my files because I want to write about it again.

    • Je peux vous inviter voir mon site Ancestry.
      J’ai ces fiches.

      Par contre j’ai vu le nom de Jeanne-Antonine Castille dans mes recherches, mais je n’ai pas fouillé plus loin.

      J’ai trouvé cette lignée et des descendants.

      Ça vaut la peine d’en parler sur le blogue et faire ressortir le point que vous soulever.

  2. Elle etait fille de Hilaire Costille et Louise Vaindroit tous de Besancon. Jean-Baptiste etais cordonnier a chambly. Tradition dit que il etait marie en France et sa femme est venu a Chambly. Surprise a Madeleine. Apres ca il a habite dans un part de la maison et Madeleine, l’autre.
    Je n’ecrit assez bien en francais mais je peux le lire.

    • Can you write in English? They were two Jean-Baptiste Lemaire. This one is not the ancestor of the Myers family I am related to. I have done quite extensive research on this.

  3. You had commented before Richard.
    Richard Lemaire says:
    August 29, 2014 at 4:04 pm Edit
    My ancestor Jean-Baptiste Lemaire married Marie-Madeleine Darche at St. Joseph in Chambly in 1786.

    He was born in Besancon, Doubs, Franche Comté circa 1753, son of Joseph or Claude Joseph Lemaire and Jeanne Costille. Tradition says he was with the French Troops under Rochambeau along with a brother Claude (Marie) Lemaire and uncle Laurent Costille.

    Claude returned to France via Barbados.
    JB and uncle went on to Canada.

    I am writing this as I had a researcher insists JB was Chretien’s son. I know there were two JBs in Chambly at this time.

    Thanks for reading.

    Richard

    • Hello Pierre,
      My ancestor Jean-Baptiste was a late comer to Canada in 1783, waited the necessary 3 years,, and married M Madeleine D’arche in 1786. I was well aware of the other JB. It may be possible that he also fought in the American Revolution but as a German mercenary with the British. Braemayer (?).
      JB”s son, JB, b. 1757 St-Joseph-Chambly m. Anne Robert and my line continues to today.
      It is easy to see the evolution of Braemeyer to Lemaire.
      I am originally from Massachusetts.
      When I first moved to LA I picked up some Laundry, but was given the laundry of a Jack Lemaire. I got in touch with his daughter who said the name had been changed from the original German. That was the end of that. Maire (Lemaire) is Swiss in origin from Neufchatel so I am told. They were clock makers who settled in Besancon parish of Ste-Madeleine.

      • I have also worked that lineage when I found the two Jean-Baptiste Lemaire. I have followed the lead somehow to some descendants.
        I think I will post my research someday.

Leave a Reply

