Phoebe Alexandre

This has been a long intermission.

I wonder if Steve is still with us on all this.

This is how Phoebe Alexandre looked like in 2010 when Sandy sent me a picture of an unknown young woman in the late 1890s in Bristol, Connecticut.

about-late-1890s-bristol-conn

I am sure now this is Phoebe on this picture Joe had.

Phoebe Alexandre

I used to mixed up Phoebe and Philomène who I now know is not this young woman.

unknown young lady

Sandy wrote me two days ago.

She thinks she might be Agnes Alexandre instead and this would be her wedding picture.

about late 1890's Wedding , Bristol, Conn.

So back to the drawing board… with this montage in Joe’s collection. It was made in the 1900s trying to figure out who is who on it.

Philomène Lagacé and her daughters

This is a montage I made in 2011 showing Phoebe Alexandre with her daughter Lucille Lestage.

Montage Lucille and Phoebe

I know Lucille was her daughter born on September 1st, 1909.

Lucille is seen here alone.

Lucille Lestage

Lucille Lestage back

These two images are from Robin who scanned more than 100 images. She sent them in 2011. These images validated all my research on Phoebe Alexandre and also on Marie Elmire.

scan0013

I know a lot about Phoebe and I would like to share it with her descendants.

Phoebe was born on March 5th, 1874. Her real given name was Flavie.

1874 Flavie Alexandre

Flavie or Phoebe married Charles Lestage. She had these children that I know of:

Albert J Lestage     1901 – ?

Edgar H Lestage     1903 – 1951

Bertie V Lestage     1908 – ?

Lucille M Lestage     1909 –  ?

I know also about her husband Michel Charles Lestage through his 1918 registration card.

Charles Lestage Registration Card

People have been sharing a lot since 2009 and I am not letting anyone down when they contact me.

All these posts written since 2009 so people who are looking for their ancestors can find them someday like Steve Myers who must be dying to learn more about his roots if this long intermission is to ever end.

I know very little about Steve’s parents nor about his grandfather who was a midshipman in the U.S. Navy in 1940…

1940 Arthur Joseph Myers midshipman U.S. Naval Academy

Or his great-grandfather who was on DD-114 in 1920…

USSTalbotDD114

I hope Steve can find old pictures to share with us or stories about his ancestors.

The more the merrier.

Usually an old aunt has pictures in an old shoe box in a dusty attic. Maybe this old aunt also has pictures of my ancestors I have no pictures of.

Who knows?

14 thoughts on “Phoebe Alexandre

  1. You haven’t lost me Pierre, I’m still here, and finding all of your research very interesting.

    Both my grandfather and great-grandfather were career Navy men. I have some pictures of the destroyers and troop ships my grandfather commanded during WWII, if you’d like to see them. Sadly we don’t have many pictures of people. No old aunts left; the Myers’ family is very small.

Leave a Reply

