Catch Me if You Can…

This is what this woman seems to tell us.

Eliza Jane Wilson

Catch me if you can…

She is Grandpa Lagasa’s mother.

At least that’s what is written on the back.

back of picture

This is the clue we are working with.

If we only knew who wrote this.

I believe that’s a woman’s handwriting, but I could be wrong.

My third cousin Sandy, who is an expert in woman’s clothing, told me that Grandpa Lagasa’s mother is wearing 1880s style clothing.

Sandy and I make a great team, and she has been helping me a lot. She had a lot of old pictures to share with me back in 2010 and some of these people are still to be identified.

Like this beautiful young woman from Bristol, Connecticut who is still unidentified. 

unknown young lady

Getting back to this older woman…

Eliza Jane Wilson

Older…?

She looks to be in her early 60s or her late 50s.

1880s – 60 = 1820s

Delia Roche was born in 1823. She married Mitchell Lagassa aka Michel Lagacé. Delia was the mother of Joseph Lagasa seen here with his children and his wife Eliza Jane Wilson.

Joseph LaGasa

At first I thought she was Eliza or her daughter Annie Lagassa on the picture.

who

The caption and the faces did not match even with a lot of imagination on my part.

I think one of John Benjamin Lagasa’s children wrote the caption, either Elva, Esther, John B. Jr., or Mary Jane.

back of picture

So…

Final answer?

grandpa Lagasa's mother What do you think?

 

15 thoughts on “Catch Me if You Can…

  1. It’s definitely not Eliza Jane Wilson Lagasse. I thought perhaps her mother, but the 2 women don’t share any resemblances. Hadn’t M. Julien already passed away? That only leaves Delia .

  2. It has to be Delia because that was I think my grandpa or my grandma’s writing on the back of the picture. There will be a picture of Delia come up somewhere soon.

    • There will be a picture of Delia come up somewhere soon????
      Now you are learning how this blog works.
      Taunting the readers and now the host blogger!

  3. If this is the right word…
    Taunting?
    I know Delia is looking at us some 100 years ago… if she is really Delia of course…
    I am 99.9% sure she is, but there is always that 0.1% chance that she is not.

  4. Bon jour Cousin,

    I was just reading over your blog and I noticed a mistake. Maybe you already found it but Mary Jane only lived a few months maybe a year. I can’t recall off the top of my head but I know she died the same year as she was born. I have her death certificate if you like me to send that to you.

    K. LaGasa

Leave a Reply

