Happy Father’s Day

If you try to use automatic translation to translate my post on Father’s Day 2013 on my blog Nos ancêtres, you would probably get Lost in translation.

I would  not like that at all so here is my translation of this post.

This is the original post in French.

After you will find the translation.

On ne peut passer incognito quand on roule avec une belle voiture antique comme celle-ci. Elle était devant moi et le conducteur tournait à droite sur le rang de la Deuxième Chaloupe à Notre-Dame-des-Prairies.

photo4393_002Je tournais également sur le rang de la Deuxième Chaloupe en quittant la 131 en arrivant à la ferme Régis.

Ma femme adore s’y arrêter.

Mon destin était au rendez-vous, car la belle voiture donc je tairai le nom pour vous faire languir, mais que j’avais reconnu dans ma tête de petit enfant, s’engagea dans le stationnement de la ferme Régis. Je me garai à ses côtés, j’arrêtai mon moteur et je débouclai ma ceinture laissant femme, fille et petite-fille toute pantoites (sic).

Après quelques secondes de bouche bée, j’engageai la conversation avec le conducteur.

J’avais du mal à contrôler mon émerveillement et les mots arrivaient à peine à sortir. Heureusement que le propriétaire de cette belle Américaine avait dû en voir d’autres aussi excités complètement gagas devant sa belle voiture.

Je vous passerai les détails, mais j’ai complètement ignoré ma femme, ma fille et ma petite-fille qui étaient disparues du stationnement…

Puis-je prendre des photos? demandai-je. Le oui fut suivi d’une série de photos entrecoupées par une série de questions et de réponses sur la voiture.

Photo4387coffre-arrière

Photo4386un petite indice en attendant

Voici ma première vraie photo. Je me trouvais transporté dans le temps en 1958 sur la rue Davidson à Montréal, précisément au 2120, appartement 1.

Photo4388Le père de mon ami qui habitait au 2118 en possédait une. Je me rappelle qu’il vendait des assurances. C’est drôle comment nos souvenirs d’enfance sont reliés aux automobiles…

Pierre 046

1949

Euclide_Florent_Pierre_Léo

1953

1951 Pontiac Foldout-02-03

Mes petits-enfants se rappelleront toute leur vie du char de leur grand-père…

Toyota-Camry-Hybrid-2012-1Camry hybride XLE 2012

Mais là je m’éloigne de mon propos.

Et vous?

Avez-vous des photos ou des anecdotes à partager?

En passant, quand je vois une Buick, je pense toujours à mon père.

GM Golden Five

source

TRANSLATION BEGINS

No one can go unnoticed when they are driving a beautiful old classic car like this one. She was in front of me and the driver was turning right on the Deuxième Chaloupe Road in Notre-Dame-des-Prairies.

photo4393_002I was also turning right on la Deuxième Chaloupe Road leaving Route 131 arriving at ferme Régis.

My wife loves to stop there for her fruits and vegetables.

My destiny was waiting there for me because the beautiful classic car that I won’t divulge the make yet just to toy with you a little bit. I had recognized the make of the car in my little boy’s head, and I pulled up into the parking lot of ferme Régis. I parked my car alongside, stopped the motor and unbuckled leaving my wife, my daughter and my granddaughter completely stunned.

After a few seconds where I was speechless, I engaged conversation with the driver.

I had trouble controlling my wonderment and I was opened-mouth. Luckily for me the car owner had probably seen such reactions from people completely excited and speechless in front of this beautiful classic car.

I will spare you the details, but I completely ignored my wife, my daughter and my granddaughter who had left the parking lot…

May I take some pictures? I asked the man. His positive response was quickly followed by a series of photos only interrupted by a series of questions and answers about the car.

Photo4387car trunk

Photo4386a small clue before I give you the car make…

This is my first shot.

I was transported through time in 1958 on Davidson Street in Montreal, precisely at 2120 Davidson Street, apartment 1.

Photo4388My father’s friend living at 2118 Davidson Street owned one. I remember he was selling life insurance. It’s funny how childhood memories are linked to cars

Pierre 046

1949

Euclide_Florent_Pierre_Léo

1953

1951 Pontiac Foldout-02-03

My grandchildren will remember all their lives the car their grandfather drove…

Toyota-Camry-Hybrid-2012-1Camry hybride XLE 2012

But I am digressing.

And you?

Do you have pictures or anecdotes to share with me?

By the way, when I see a Buick, I always think of my father.

GM Golden Five

source

5 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

