13 December 1862, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Christmas was just around the corner in 1862. I am sure Alexander Bennett  was thinking about his family in Vermont.

Photo1404Some of our ancestors will always remember that Christmas.

I visited Fredericksburg, Virginia, in September 2011.

I was going to visit a friend in North Carolina. It was like a stopover to cut travel time. I knew nothing about Fredericksburg or about the part it played in the Civil War.

Alexander Bennett was also a complete stranger and I did not know he was a private with Vermont Second Infantry.

I remembered going there and visiting Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center.

Photo1453

As usual I took a lot of fuzzy pictures with my cellphone (my camera battery was dead)… while trying to make sense of all this madness that occured around Christmas time in  December 1862.

Photo1407Why Fredericksburg?

Wikipedia has all the answers and I have a few fuzzy pictures to share.

Leave a Reply

