Remember Good Old Holyoke?

Ed had sent me this message along with his 31 pictures of unidentified ancestors.

After our little discussion of the Alexander family and from what little research I have done, I believe I have some old photographs that might be from their family.  When my aunt died in 1963, her mother, my grandmother, brought back to Georgia a steamer trunk containing some of my aunt’s things.  In that trunk was a group of old photographs.  They were in my grandmother’s things in 1975 when she died and they have finally come to rest with me. 

No one was ever able to tell me anything about the pictures (I never even thought to ask Uncle George).  They are of babies, children, families, and individual men and women, all dating to the late 1800s and early 1900s. 

None have any names indicating whom the pictures are of, however some do have photographer’s marks.  There are 31 photographs and 16 have Holyoke, Massachusetts labels, 2 have Quebec labels, and 1 has a label from Bristol, Connecticut.  These are all places associated with the Alexanders.  In 1920 and 1930, Jean-Baptiste and his family were living in Bristol, CT; in 1910, they were in Holyoke, MA and prior to that, they were in Quebec.   

All of Ed’s 31 pictures did not look familiar at first glance.

Even Robin had this comment…

What a challenge! Are we up to it?

All were unidentified ancestors until Frank sent me this picture of  John Archambeault.

He is Jean-Baptiste Archambeault’s and Emilia Mercier’s son. John Archambeault married Florence Boucher. He could be the same man seen in this montage I made with one of Ed’s pictures.

I had this picture identified as family 1.

Family 1

You have to start somewhere don’t you…

Anyway, this Family 1 could be John Archambault with his wife Florence Boucher and a daughter. I know they had at least four daughters… because Frank told me.

Flora Archambault (1873)

Lillie (Lillian) Archambault (1877)

Alice Archambault (4 July 1878)

Nellie (Helen) Archambault 1884

Nellie could be the daughter on the picture.

Now if we turn our attention to Family 2.

Family 2

Could this family be also related to the Archambeault family…?

How about his one then and all other 28 pictures sent by Frank that were all unidentified ancestors?

Family 3

 I have no idea.

About John Archambeault…

I believe it’s him on these two pictures.

If this is John, then this could be John with his daughter Flora born in 1873.

I know sometimes I might be hard to follow…