Sleepless in Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatière

It’s hard to fall asleep when you want to find out about your roots.

This is what Brian sent me yesterday morning after a sleepless night…

He was burning midnight oil to find his ancestors…

I can understand because I have been there.

Louis Lagacé or Louis Legasse or Lewis LeGacy arrived in the U.S. in November 1835 according to this document.

He was naturalized in 1856.

He was born in 1819 in Ste.Anne, Lower Canada, which is most probably Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatière.  

But is he the real Lewis who is related to Brian LeGacy?

We will have to look in the parish registers for the year 1819.

That’s a good place to start. But then the birthyear might be off… a little. This is almost always the case.

Brian was quick on the trigger and he searched the registers.

Probably losing sleep.

Before falling asleep, he found this document.

He can’t read French…

He thought it was about a Louis Matthieu L’agacé.

Since I have 100% French-canadian roots… I can read French… and offered a helping hand.

Well not 100%… because I am also a direct descendant on my mother’side of Josiah Rising and Abigail Nims taken captives in 1704 in a raid on Deerfied, Massachusetts… 

Click here… for information about the Deerfield massacre.


“I wished they had invented photography before 1840… my descendants would have a picture of their ancestor.”

2 thoughts on “Sleepless in Ste-Anne-de-la-Pocatière

  1. One of my ancestors, Mathias Farnsworth (Phaneuf) was captured during one of those raids and taken to Canada where he grew up, married Catherine Charpentier and one of their children eventually married a LeBlanc to become part of my ancestry.

Leave a Reply

