Having fun down South…

with the weather I mean?

No…?

Fox News

That bad weather you are having down South is not our fault… here in French Canada.

We have nothing to do with it.

French-Canadians are mostly fun people… and very friendly specially when it comes to genealogy.

You don’t believe it…?

Ask Ron.

Ron and I

You see 900,000 French-Canadians emigrated to the United States in the 1800s and the 1900s. Ron emigrated to Ontario when he was young. He found his roots in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines and I showed him around town.

Ron wants to come back to Quebec very badly…

Eileen Katherine Sovie

This is one of the descendants of someone who moved to the United States in the 1800s…

Eileen is very special, so is this picture.

Eileen Sovie is very special to Odette Clouthier.

You see, Eileen Sovie is Odette’s grandmother.

As I said yesterday, Odette has been looking for her roots since 2000, and she knew a few thing about her grandmother’s lineage.

With what she knew, and with the help of Denis, her 2nd cousin, I was able to link Eileen Sovie to Joseph Sauvé and Mathilde Leduc.

Joseph Sauvé, as you must know by now, was Honoré Sauvé’s brother.

I had found everything about my great-great-grandfather Honoré back in 2007…

That’s great-great Pierre

Honoré looks a bit like me… if you take out the glasses… and take a little bit hair off the top.

I share something more than common ancestors with Odette.

Call it pride.

 

Click on the image for a larger view

Being proud of our ancestors, and in a way, bringing them back to life by remembering them even though we never saw them in real life.

Honoré died in 1899, but his memories live on thanks to that picture.

We don’t have a picture of Joseph Sauvé nor his son Arthur Sauvé, nor his grandchild William Sovie, nor his great-grandchild Otis E. Sovie… but we have Eileen’s picture.

But I am sure there are some pictures somewhere in an old box in an attic.

I hope people won’t throw these precious photographs in a garbage truck when their owners die. I have seen that a lot.

Next time, I will show you some old pictures of the Sauvé family.

2 thoughts on “Having fun down South…

  1. Such a lovely article.

    I almost cried when I saw my Gram’s picture up there. I guess it was because I saw it somewhere other then in my bedroom. It was nice.

    You are right, sharing family history is like bring them back to life, even though they have passed on. Maybe that is why, even though my Gram has been physcially gone 25 years, she never has left me all of that time, because I kept her alive in my heart and mind.
    :)

  2. This is not about the weather but perhaps it is about the weather in my bones.

    I have lived all over the place in my life before I settled where I live today.
    I notice that in every community where I went its people have their own certain way about them, I am not sure what you call it but in most cases you know in yourself that you are really not one of them.

    Maybe its the fact that you are “and I’ll say this in my own words ” not married into the names you find there.

    The small community that I grew up in, this feeling to me was only felt in my own family and my close relatives. I believe this was so as the result of my grandfather having immigrated there from along the Quebec boarder. I am seeing more and more from watching this blog of Pierre’s and having traveled to his town that I found for myself what I’ve have always looked out for those who exist for me with the people and its descendants of Ste-Anne. Here in this place I know I was married in at one time and I am able to see where the parts I have in me are the same as those I meet there while on my visit. Each new name that comes up here on Pierre’s blog on Ste-Anne’s ancestry brings me back to find out more of who I might be.

    Thank you from Ron Belisle Depatie .

Leave a Reply

