Idala was a humble man…

How do I know this…?

I can feel it in my bones.

Idala was certainly a humble man and I know all this publicity makes him very uncomfortable.

Idala Lagasse

1870-1947?

He was a carpenter by trade just like my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé.

Stanislas changed his name to Dennis Lagassee when he emigrated to the United States in 1889 with his family much like hundreds of thousand other French-Canadians in the 19th century.

I knew nothing about my great-grandfather Stanislas two years ago. My father Léo Junior did not talk much nor did his father Léo Senior.

I even wonder if my father knew anything about his grandfather Stanislas.

What I know is that my father was not a family man because when my grandfather Léo Senior died in 1964, my father who the eldest son cut ties with his brothers and sisters.

In 2008, Val d’Or Lagacé, a complete stranger,  sent me an e-mail with my grandfather’s death certificate. Léo Senior’s mother’s name was on the document: H. Alexandre.

With only this small clue I was able to go back in the past and link with André Mignier whose nickname was La Gâchette, the Trigger, because he was a soldier and carried a musket.

Just like André Mignier carried a musket, I carried on with my search for my family.

In 2009 I reunited with some of my father’s brothers and sisters mostly with Jacques and Fleurette.

The whole story is here if you want to read it…

Alyce found me in April 2010 and she hit the real jackpot.

Many more descendants are now hitting the jackpot…

Claudette in Florida, Randolph and Marc in Tennessee, and probably yourself because you are reading this article while you were searching for Emeril Lagasse in order to find out if you were related to him. Emeril is my 8th cousin and he is rich and famous. Emeril does not know it but many people come here when they type Emeril Lagasse genealogy on Google.

I am the third in line. I did not do it on purpose.

Alyce on the other hand is my 3rd cousin. I never asked her if she was rich and famous. I know she is a wonderful human being because I can feel it in my bones.

Now getting back to our humble carpenter, Idala would probably like to talk more about his family, his grandchildren, and his great-grandchildren…

So let’s talk about it a little… by starting with this picture Alyce sent me last week.

1921

The only clue is the date and a strong presumption Idala is there in the picture.

But where is he?

Alyce does not think Idala was rich enough to own a house.

This morning Alyce sent me more pictures… and I saw the light.

Next Monday I will show them to you.