August 6th, 2014 – Happy 82th Lionel

I am not going to post the picture of my second cousin Lionel with his son Dennis going over the old family album, but I can tell you Lionel Lagasse has his 82th birthday today. I got a notification from Facebook last week.

Lionel was instrumental in a series of articles I wrote about the Lagasses. He had kept more than 100 old family pictures all those years. His pictures led me to Donna whose mother Doris is seen here holding Donna. Her great-grandmother Amanda Ménard is the woman sitting and her grandmother Odna is on the left.

four generations Amanda Odna Doris Donna

Four generations
Donna’s private collection

Donna is also now an interested reader of this blog and I met her at Joe’s place last year. She has also shared with me what she knew about her mother and her ancestors.

August 6th is a date Donna remembers all too well.

I don’t have to say more.

Robert Ritchie

Donna’s private collection
Robert Ritchie – On eternal patrol since August 6th, 1945

Click here…

If you click on the link, you will find this comment in the comment section.

This is how Donna found me in the first place.

Thank you for this blog.  Odna Ritchie was my grandmother.  My mother Doris was the youngest of her 6 children.  William and Robert were the Uncles I never got to meet.  My mother talked of them often.

2 thoughts on “August 6th, 2014 – Happy 82th Lionel

  1. Thank you for this post. It is meaningful to me. While going through my mother’s possessions I came across a record hat was recorded by William Ritchie sometime in the 1940s. I’ve had it transferred to a CD so I could hear his voice. It’s only 4 minutes long and he sings the whole time. What an honor it was to hear “Uncle Billy” sing. Now if only I could hear “Uncle Bobby” too.

Leave a Reply

