Another look into the past

lagasse-dube-crew-bristol-1918 modification

Click on the image to zoom in.

I have a new interested reader on this blog.

She likes old pictures. This one is part of Dennis Lagasse IV’s collection of about 100 pictures. I posted them all on this blog which has more than 700 posts.

I told my new reader she could start from the start. Somewhat brillant if she likes old pictures because I have collected a few thousands along the way.

I wrote that much so someone might find the blog and get all excited. I just have to sit and wait like a fisherman although I don’t like fishing.

Writing is what I do best beside waiting for someone to comment.

I could tell you that the man with the white hat is my great-grandfather but that might not get you all excited unless you are looking for Hector Lamothe who married Ida Lagasse who were Lucille Lamothe’s parents. Hector is on this picture also.

Lucille Lamothe

Click on the image

Birth: Aug. 27, 1928
Death: Oct. 6, 2007

Lucille, of Vacation Estates Lane, passed away at her home.

She was born in Bristol, Conn. the daughter of Hector and Ida (Lagasse) LaMothe.

Lucille enjoyed spending her time solving cryptograms, crocheting and knitting, but her greatest joy was her family; her eight children, 12 grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren.

She is survived by her children, Brian Bates of Farmington, Richard Bates and wife, Vickie, of Sevierville, Tenn., Bernard D. Bates III of Farmington, Mark Bates and wife, Paula, of Livermore, Patricia Abbott of Washington State, Diane Bates of Farmington, Mary Bates of Sevierville, Tenn., and Linda Bates of Bangor. She will also be greatly missed by grandchildren, Moira Strong, Sara Couture, Jacob Bates, Ronica Smith, Danielle Bates, Rebecca Couture, Amy Littlefield, Crystal Littlefield, Garth Winslow, Eric Winslow, Collin Sweatt, Stephanie Sweatt, Jenika Kelley and Jonathan Butman; as well as her seven great-grandchildren; several nieces; nephews; and cousins.

She was predeceased by her beloved husband, Bernard D. Bates Jr.; sisters, Jeanette Taylor and Rita Creedon; and her brother William LaMothe.

4 thoughts on “Another look into the past

  1. Love all of this history. It brings back some memories for me. The man in the picture with the white hat is also my great-grandfather. Love it. Hector and Ida were my mothers Uncle/Aunt. Ida was my grandmothers sister. I remember as a little girl visiting with Hector and Ida both at their home and family gatherings. Great memories, thanks for sharing. I look forward to your posts.

    • I would love to share this with the Lamothes someday.

      I am a new grandfather… Little baby girl… Her name… Lucille!

      Thanks for commenting. I always enjoy your comments. Keeps me going.

      Pierre

  2. Congratulations Pierre on your new grand baby Lucille! Thank you for this post. I like the analogy of fishing in genealogy and casting the net to see who’s out there. I am learning a lot from you on how to engage readers and how to share information. Thanks for sharing your expertise! Wonderful photos again. :-)

Leave a Reply

