Being famous…

Some people will do anything to be famous.

To get their 15 minutes of fame.

It’s not my cup of tea.

I don’t have to be famous to get recognition.

You don’t have to be famous also to get some here on this blog.

In fact it’s the first criteria.

This is why I created this award.

Teacher's Pet Awards

Meeting beautiful minds out there on cyberspace has been the most precious gift I have received since I started writing blogs in 2008. It was about a recollection I had: a picture of a great-grandfather.

Édouard Métayer

I hope you have enjoyed some posts of my first two bloggers I have given that award.

I have many more in store for you.

All are picked at random as I wash the dishes. My wife cooks and I wash the dishes. She uses a lot of dishes and I have a lot of recollections from which I select one.

It does not matter if I am rich and famous.

In fact I am none of those.

Just a compulsive blogger who can’t stop washing dishes and having recollections.

See you next Monday for the 3rd Teacher’s Pet Awards.

11 thoughts on “Being famous…

  1. Fame isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, usually ends up being more trouble than it’s worth. No privacy, no peace. As for rich, you don’t have to be famous to be rich. Some people would consider me poor as a church mouse, but as far as I’m concerned, I’m wealthy and very much blessed.

    • Ditto.

      I just spoke last night with the daughter of a pilot I had wrote about on my blog about 425 Squadron.

      One hour of pure delight as we talked about her father who said very little about the war, only about the crash he was in…

      http://425alouette.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/brousseau-po-joseph-henri-normand-j17601-distinguished-flying-cross/

      I wrote this update last night…

      http://425alouette.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/po-joseph-henri-normand-brousseau/

      She told me she has her father log book and a photo album she will scanned. She is thrilled as I am that we will be able to pay homage to her father with all this.

      Then she started to talk about her father’s ancestors… and I just had a big smile on the phone…

      • My father didn’t talk about his experiences in World War II either. He was with the US Army, Corps of Engineers in North Africa and Italy. While in North Africa he was on detached service with the British.
        He was in his early 30s and had been working as a carpenter before enlisting. He spent a lot of time in front of the lines, rebuilding bridges and buildings. On very rare occasions he’d mention something that was amusing but mostly he didn’t talk about it.
        His maternal grandfather was in the German army but never involved in anything except training, for which he was relieved. I have a photo of him in uniform.

      • I have several blogs paying homage to veterans. Most will avoid talking about what they went through.
        Most talk about their comrades and the funny anecdotes.

      • That seems to be true of so many of the World War II veterans. They went to war, they fought, some died, the ones who came home, picked up their lives and said little or nothing about those experiences. So many families really had no idea of the courage, strength and heroism their fathers, uncles, brothers, and sons showed while involved in that conflict. Almost as though they had a strange disruption of existence into a different plane, where it was more nightmare than reality, and upon waking from the nightmare discovered themselves back home where they belonged. There was a distance that doesn’t seem to happen now. I know quite a few Vietnam vets, they sometimes can’t stop talking about their war experiences.

      • Thanks for sharing this.

        Knowing how Vietnam vets were treated when they came back for a war America lost, no wonder they can’t stop talking about their war experiences.

      • They were treated very badly. In fact, a friend, now deceased, was in the Marines and in Vietnam during the Tet offensive. He told me that America had won the war, then the idiots in Washington threw it away. He was very bitter about that, which was understandable.

      • The Vietnam war was such a nighmare for those who had to fight with their hands tied.

Leave a Reply

