Who do you think you are…? Redux

Redux time again!

I know you just can’t wait.

So do I. This is one of my favorite posts.

Start reading…

I know some people get all excited when they discover their Lagacé lineage.

They immediately connect to Emeril Lagasse.

I don’t mind that at all.

When the excitement is all over, then they start digging deeper and then they find there is so much more to learn about their roots than being a distant relative to Emeril Lagasse.

I did not know who Emeril Lagasse was before I started searching for my ancestor André Mignier dit La Gâchette back in 2007.

So let’s say I discovered Emeril Lagasse after I discovered everything about the Lagacés, and the Lagasses, and the LeGasse, and the LeGacy, and… so on and so on…

Emeril Lagasse is my 8th cousin meaning our common ancestors were brothers 8 generation back.

Bam

So…

Who do you think you are…?

In a way, just someone extraordinary like celebrities are.

Like Idala Lagasse who is a celebrity to his descendants…

Idala 1930

Idala Lagasse

And of course yourself when you will become your descendants’ ancestor.

That what I think you are…

Stop!

stop

That’s stop in French.

I just found a new third cousin once removed. His ancestor was Agnes Lagasse.

Photo5205

His  great-great-grandmother was resting in peace since July 5th 1901 in St. Joseph Church cemetery until Joe found her headstone while I was looking all around for French Canadian names.

To be continued…

6 thoughts on “Who do you think you are…? Redux

    • You have not tasted my bread yet. Can’t bring it into the U.S. But I can bring a lot of ancestors down south.
      Snow this morning.

  1. At St. Joseph Church cemetery, have you by any chance encountered such French names as Lusignan, Patenaude, Hogue or others?

Leave a Reply

