Dennis Lagasse III

I think I take genealogy and our ancestors too seriously. Sometimes my posts are long and confusing.

This is Dennis Lagasse IV’s great-grandfather. He’s the man under the hat stuck on branches. Dennis III is also my granduncle since he was the brother of my other granduncle Adelord and of my grandfather Philip Lagasse from Canada.

Dennis Lagasse III and some of his sonsDennis Lagasse III is seen with four of his sons: Napoleon Levi (Dennis IV’s grandfather), Harvey, Victor, and Joseph on the extreme right.

The young man between Joseph Lagasse and Victor Lagasse has yet to be identified.

Dennis Lagasse III is the son of Dennis Lagasse II who was the son of Dennis Lagasse I.

All these Dennises were in fact Stanislases. All except Dennis IV who knew very little about family tree back in 2011.

Pierre I can’t thank you enough for everything you’re doing, I really was lost when it came to family history. I saw photos when I was young and didn’t know much more than we came from Bristol CT. I heard once or twice about a Dennis before me that was killed at work in the 1920s but that was all I thought there was. To put names on the strangers smiling faces in the old photos gives me a sense of belonging that I’ve never felt before. I knew there had to be than just “here I am”, now I have “where I’m from” thanks to you.

Dennis Lagasse III left this world on October 21, 1922.

cemeteryStanislas Lagasse

obit

This obituary became a kind of Rosetta stone to look for all of Dennis III’s descendants.

I knew all about Dennis Lagasse III before Dennis Lagasse IV his great-grandson contacted me back in 2011. Dennis Lagasse III was just a name and a man in a family picture sent by someone in 2009 who never stayed in touch.

Stanislas 1864

Together Dennis IV and I brought Dennis III to life again on this blog with dozen and dozen of photos. We are just waiting for someone to join in our search for unidentified ancestors.

original picture of the Lagasse family

Just waiting…

Dennis Lagasse IV in Connecticut, and Pierre in Quebec, Canada.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think Dennis and I take genealogy and our ancestors too seriously.

9 thoughts on “Dennis Lagasse III

  1. Hi Pierre,

    Is the Joseph Lagassee, in the picture of six men at the top of your story, the one that married Edwina Newcity? I believe from the info you have furnished that Joseph is the son of Dennis and Eliza (Kayeu) Lagassee. Not sure which Dennis (#) is Joseph’s father. I agree that genealogy is in our blood. By the way I did the Ancestry.com DNA test and just received the results. I was disappointed in the little information received as I now have more questions than answers. It stated the percentage of my ancestors as 63% Central Europe and 34% Eastern Europe and 3% Uncertain. What a broad statement! I had already guessed that much information from the genealogy I had done and at least and I have a greater breakdown by countries on my own. They also gave me a list of others that have taken the test and we are supposely possible relatives. That I question as their breakdowns did not include Central or Eastern Europe but British Isles and Scandinavia and Southern Europe. I guess you can tell I was expecting more than what I received.
    Keep up the good work and have a nice day,
    Susan

    • In 2009 Dennis III was just a name in my family tree. No spouse, no children… NOTHING but a name of a child of Stanislas Lagacé and Henriette Alexandre.
      Now I have link Dennis III to his descendants.

  2. Can you imagine someone who knows nothing about his roots like Dennis IV did in 2011 and stumble on my blog…? This blog is everlasting…

Leave a Reply

