How I Got Addicted to Genealogy

People who read this blog know that I am French-Canadian. They also know this blog is only the tip of the iceberg. I have several and some are written in French.

Our Ancestors is the English version of my blog Nos ancêtres that I started back in January 2008.

This is what started this whole obsession with dead people…

Édouard Métayer

Édouard Métayer is one of my eight great-grandfathers. He was the father of my grandmother Juliette Métayer. She is the little girl in front beside her brother Paul.

1914 enfants métayerBack in 2007 I knew almost nothing about my roots, but I had this vision of a picture resting on a dresser in a run-down apartment on Mentana Street in Montreal back in the 1950s.

Little did I know back in 2007 that my grandfather had been rich and lost everything  to gambling twice!

This vision was my great-grandfather Édouard Métayer. My grandmother Juliette had told me when I was young that her father had died in 1928 while he was responding to a fire alarm.

He was just a few months from retiring.

I am a retired teacher. I retired back in 2004 and I had some free time on my hands…

Well not quite since I went back to study translation at the university. Full-time and enduring traffic jams back and forth for 10 months. I still translate things, the latest one was a book about baby purees.

Anyway…

I am now a grandfather with two adorable grandchildren, a boy and a girl.

You won’t see their pictures on this blog.

Nothing personal…

I never put personal information on this blog when I write about your ancestors’ descendants or mine. This is why Dennis Lagasse IV was trusting me enough to share more than 100 pictures and why a whole lot of people did the same since 2009 when I started this English version of Nos ancêtres.

So feel free to share old pictures so I can share them with people who just like Harold write comments on my blog.

You never know what we can find together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 thoughts on “How I Got Addicted to Genealogy

  1. Hi Pierre,
    I am so glad your started the English version. It is always a pleasure to read each posting, I know you are helping others to connect to their ancestors and especially grateful the way you helped me connect to my Canadian/French ancestors. Keep up the good work…Have a nice day, Susan

    • I write for people like you Susan.
      I know down the road people will enjoy all the research I have done with the help of my readers.
      I understand some people are not addicted to genealogy.
      Well not yet…
      I can wait.

      Happy Mother’s Day Susan (I don’t even know if you’re a mother)
      You see I don’t go into people’s personal lives.

    • Little did I know back in 2007 that my grandfather had been rich and lost everything to gambling twice!

      • Ah yes, those things we didn’t really want to know, but can’t avoid. Guess we just have to accept the whole package if we want to keep up with this.

      • I wanted to find out.. and I did and it made me a much better person.
        I never gambled but it explained my addiction to genealogy…

  2. Pierre I can’t thank you enough for everything you’re doing, I really was lost when it came to family history. I saw photos when I was young and didn’t know much more than we came from Bristol CT. I heard once or twice about a Dennis before me that was killed at work in the 1920s but that was all I thought there was. To put names on the strangers smiling faces in the old photos gives me a sense of belonging that I’ve never felt before. I knew there had to be than just “here I am”, now I have “where I’m from” thanks to you.

    • I was so glad to have finally found someone who was interested in his roots.
      Your father’s pictures will enable us to find more descendants and get them hooked on genealogy.

      I really feel privileged to have you as a distant cousin.

      Pierre

  3. My paternal grandfather spent thousands of dollars and years researching our family history in England – ultimately publishing a detailed book of history back to the early 14 hundreds.It was interesting “ish”, frankly drab and clinical – lacking any hint of three dimensional life. It collects dust in a drawer. Then I happened to learn my maternal grandfather was gay. I knew he worked in the gold mines and drifted from job to job with my grandmother and mother in tow. My grandmother worked as a fashion illustrator for Vogue magazine in San Fransisco during the 20′s.- now my interest is insatiable – this history speaks of real life – this is the history I need to explore:)

Leave a Reply

