Lovely Rita

This is a post I wrote last year. It was about lovely little Rita. When you read once more Diane’s message, this post is most touching.

thought I would let you know that my aunt Rita Hazel, only daughter of Leo and Ida Combe passed away about a month ago.  I think she was 91 or 92.  The only sibling left is Henry Combe, my wonderful father.

Carl wrote me again about his ancestors and their relatives.

He had this information about someone named Rita.

He also mentioned the Combe and the Ashley families in his e-mail.

I had to look it up in the more than 100 photos Robin has scanned in 2011 where most of the pictures were of the Bleau and the Combe family.

I found little Rita.

Lovely Rita… circa 1924

Rita is there with her cousins and her two brothers… Joe, with his mouth opened, and Henry on the far right.

thought I would let you know that my aunt Rita Hazel, only daughter of Leo and Ida Combe passed away about a month ago.  I think she was 91 or 92.  The only sibling left is Henry Combe, my wonderful father.

 

Rita Hazel

April 23, 1922 – February 7, 2013

Rita Hazel, wife of the late Charles Hazel of Hartford and daughter of the late Ida and Leo Combe of Middletown, died Thursday February 7th at Middlesex Hospital with her loving family by her side. She was born on April 23, 1922. She attended St. John’s School, Woodrow Wilson High School and Morse Business College in Hartford.

In 1966, she took a position at Middlesex Hospital as secretary to the Vice President of Finance, with whom she was with for 24 years. She retired in 1990, after which she volunteered at the Hospitals Information Desk for 18 years.

She is survived by a son, Stephen Hazel and his fiancé, Robin of Portland, a daughter, Sheila White and her husband, Ken of Meriden, a daughter, Donna Milardo and her husband, Dave of East Hampton, her brother, Henry Combe of Old Saybrook and many nieces and nephews. She was predeceased by three brothers, Anthony Combe of Cromwell, Joseph Combe and Edward Combe of Middletown. She had nine grandchildren and 10 great grandchildren.

Rita Combe 1

3 thoughts on “Lovely Rita

    • I have no other information on Rita other than the comment made yesterday. I know she was a lovely little Rita as can be seen on the picture taken around 1925 with her siblings.

Leave a Reply

