My Nana Freida

I had found Freida’s maiden name back in 2012.

Freida was Freida Kaminski. Then she married Harry Bleau and became Freida Bleau.

Freida Kaminski and Harry Bleau

I had a hunch…

The 1920 U.S. Census.

This was the proof I needed.

Harry Bleau, son-in-law of Frank Kaminski.

Fredrica Bleau, daughter of Frank Kaminski.


Frank Kaminski was born in Germany.

I was then able to put some names on these people.


Freida Kaminski Bleau on the far left was with her brother Peter Kaminski, then Peter Kaminski‘s wife Isabel Chagnon, their child Pauline Kaminski, and Isabel Chagnon’s sister.

In this next picture Pauline Kaminski had grown up to be a beautiful little girl. She was on the left.

Her little brother Peter Kaminski Junior was on Freida’s lap.


Pauline Kaminski was 6 and Peter Kaminski Junior was 4 years old.

But what about the girl on the right. She was John Kaminski’s daughter. I had no name until I got this comment on my blog this week.

Wow! These photos are my family! My mother, Pauline Kaminski and her brother, Peter are with my Nana (Freida Kaminski Bleau) and their cousin, Joanie. I would like to know more about your search and our connection.

6 thoughts on “My Nana Freida

  1. Good Morning Pierre,

    Yes, you are correct about Freida being a Kaminski. Her mother’s name was Anna and her father was Frank.
    Freida had four siblings, Peter (my grandfather), John, and another brother, Frank.
    Freida lived in Bristol, CT. As a young child, I often visited her. She made the best APPLE PIE! She had a Siamese cat named.. Sen-Sen and loved to plant geraniums in the Spring!

    Linda Marie Calhoun

  2. Hello again,
    I forgot about Aunt Dorothy and Aunt Elsie, such a long time ago. I am so happy you had the census data!

    • These are the children I have.
      Who is Dorothy?

      Marie Kaminski 1885 –
      Elsie Kaminski 1889 –
      Clara Kaminski 1891 –
      Frederica Kaminski 1899 – 1987
      Frank Kaminski 1901 –
      William Kaminski 1903 –
      John Kaminski 1905 –
      Peter Kaminski Senior 1907 –

      If you can fill me in on when these people left us, I can add it on “our” family tree.

      Best regards

      Pierre

      • Allô
        Je me demande si c’est bien vous qui avez demeuré au 3358 Ontario dans les années 60, si oui vous devez être les locataires après nous.
        J’aimerais savoir si c’est bien vous.

        Nicole Bordeleau

Leave a Reply

