Hé salut Jules…

Hi there neighbor!

This is probably what Frank Lagasse said to Jules Moquin when he went to work in the morning on June 25th, 1900. 

They were both neighbors.

Frank Lagasse was a carpenter and Jules Moquin was a laborer working at the Ingraham factory.

Source

I hope Frank Lagasse and Jules Moquin got along well.

I found Jules Moquin in the 1900 U.S. Census when I first started looking for Judy’s ancestors.

Just for the record, Judy is the 1st great grand niece of the husband (Eugene Dube) of my grand aunt (Lillie Lagasse) who I knew little before Judy wrote this comment…

Not sure if I can help.
Jules Moquin was my great-grandfather.
He was born in Canada, married Marie Dube.
I believe there are Lagaces somewhere in the family line, but I’m not sure where.
Can you, or anyone else offer any insights on Jules and Marie?

She offered her help and she wanted also to get a little help if possible with her ancestors.

Judy and I are not blood relative.

Well not yet.

I was startled to find her great-grandfather Jules Moquin so quickly.

There he was with his family living in Bristol, Connecticut, on the same street as my great-grandfather Dennis Lagasse (1842), son of Dennis Lagasse (1816).

Dennis is at line 97 on the page and Jules is at line 62.

Let’s take a closer look…

Jules Moquin is there. He is about 36 (the census is not precise on birthyears). His wife, Mary (of course she is Marie Dubé) is 43. Then the children: Eugene, 12, Arthur, 11, Eujennie (Eugenie), 10, Judy’s grandmother, Leah, 8, Mary, 7, Daniel, 4, and little Deney who is one year-old.

Marie Dubé’s brothers, Napoléon and Eugène, also live on the same street.

Let’s take a stroll down memory lane to get a clearer picture.

Their next door neighbors, Frank Lagasse and his wife Sophia Archambault.

We don’t have pictures of Jules Moquin and his wife Marie Dubé… nor pictures of Eugene and Napoleon Dube, nor pictures of their family.

We will probably never find any pictures.

But that’s what I said about finding pictures of my great-grandfather Dennis Lagasse, back in 2007, when I first started getting somewhat interested about genealogy.

Speaking of the Ingraham factory, where Jules Moquin worked with Dennis Lagasse and Napoleon Dube, are you intrigued by this picture I posted before…?

Could these two men here be, by any chance, Jules Moquin and Eugene Dubé…?

I don’t think so.

Next time we will find more about this man’s family.

What About Lilie Lagasse?

I hope I did not mislead you with this picture last time.

It was not deliberate.

Lillie, Lily, or Lillian is on this picture.

This is a very rare picture of workers at the Ingraham factory in Bristol, Connecticut at the turn of the century… Twentieth that’s is.

Try Googling to see if you can find more pictures about workers at the Ingraham factory.

What about Lilie Lagasse?

Lillie Lagasse is NOT  on this picture, but Lilie Archambeau is, with her  sister Alice. Unfortunately we don’t know who the two men are, but we have a lot of pictures of Lilie and Alice to share thanks to Frank Archambeault.

Lilie and Alice Archambault

Alice and Lilie Shambo

Lilie Archambo’s wedding