I usually don’t post…

I usually don’t post something on my blog about genealogy without asking permission first.

I think  I can go ahead and post this photograph though.

 

Arthur Métayer 1854-1943

This man is Arthur Métayer.

This is his daughter Azella. 

Azella or Isabel?

This is where this picture came from…

It was sent to me two years ago. Isabel or Azella was Arthur Métayer’s daughter.

Isabel had a sister named Alberta.

This is Alberta.

I am sure the woman who sent these pictures won’t mind if I post them here on my blog.

Her e-mail address got lost in a computer crash last year so I can’t ask for permission.

I am sure she won’t mind because someone who is searching for someone’s ancestors wrote me about Azella. He was not sure about her identity in my family tree on Ancestry.

He had Isabel instead of Azella.

We connected.

We both had the right information. Azella was Isabel and everything else fitted in.

I won’t go much further with this, but I know I put a smile on someone’s face once again.

Pictures are such an interesting way to connect with people.

Smile!

Am I related to these people?

Just distant relatives.

Arthur Métayer is the brother of Édouard-Elzéar Métayer.

Édouard-Elzéar Métayer is my great-great-grandfather seen in the middle of the front row.

His son Édouard is in the back on the right smiling. His wife Angélina Renaud has her arm resting on his shoulder.

Édouard Métayer was a fireman.

Édouard later became a fire captain. He died in 1928 after an accident while responding to a fire alarm.

He is the one who is responsible for this blog.

I  only had a faint memory of him… A  picture at my grandmother’s place when I was 6 years-old.

In 2007, strangely enough, I wanted to know more about him.

So in a sense, you owe this man a lot…