Edna Lagasse Ritchie

Note

This post was written on December 20, 2011.

This woman is not Edna but her sister Ida. Click here for an update.

End of note

I think this is Edna Lagasse in this picture that was in little Marie’s collection.

Edna Lagasse?

There was no caption.

So I could be wrong about that picture, but I know that Edna Lagasse is related to me.

Robin had scanned also the picture below where I believe Edna could be on the right in the third row. Her brother Levi Napoleon Lagasse seems to be on the left.

When I saw that picture, I did this montage.

There are many ressemblances.

This is the obituary Dennis Lagasse IV, whose grandfather was Levi Napoleon Lagasse, sent me about Edna last October.

It tells us a lot about Edna’s life…

I have found more on her two boys who were killed during WWII with Joe’s help.

Robert J Ritchie was an EM3c (Electrician’s Mate Third Class) aboard SS 332 Bullhead.

William H Ritchie was a sergeant in Company G in the 327th Glider Infantry of the 101st Airborne Division.

The submarine SS 332 Bullhead was the last American ship sunk in WWII. Most probably it was sunk by a Ki-51 Japanese aircraft on August 6, 1945. Robert J Ritchie’s body was never found. The news of the sinking came on August 15, 1945, when another submarine SS Captaine sent this message…

“Have been unable to contact USS Bullhead by any means since arriving in area.”

Robert J Ritchie 1925?-1945

William H Ritchie was killed in Holland on September 22, 1944, during Operation Market Garden.

I don’t have a picture to show you.

William H. Ritchie

Sergeant, U.S. Army

Service # 31271954

327th Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne Division

Entered the Service from: Connecticut Died: 22-Sep-44 Buried at: Plot J Row 10 Grave 6 Netherlands American Cemetery Margraten, Netherlands Awards: Purple Heart with Oak Leaf Cluster

Just this…