Sometimes it takes time…

Ron Depatie has been eagerly waiting for another article on this blog.

I am sure he knows I am not letting him down with this English version on my blog Nos Ancêtres

You see Ron can’t read French and he desperately tries to understand what I am writing on my blog Nos Ancêtres.

Ron and I are close friends even if we’re hundreds of kilometers apart. Ron lives in southern Ontario and I live north of Montreal.

So I know Ron is happy this morning reading this.

As a matter of fact these people in this picture are also happy this morning because they are reuniting once more…

The Hogue family

This time on the Internet in 2011.

Last time it was in 1910.

Sounds strange? Please continue your reading…

I began writing this blog especially to find their descendants in the United States. You see this picture was taken in Malborough, Massachusetts, back in 1910 or there about.

This week someone in the U.S. read the articles I wrote in 2009 about this picture, and thought she knew someone in it.

This person has agreed to let me talk about her ancestors and she told me that her grandmother could probably identify those I could not identify.

She will be the first one to benefit from all of this because I know a lot about her French-Canadian roots because I have searched a lot to find who these people were in the first place.

From the start, back in 2009, this was the only person I knew for sure…

The first man who grew strawberries in Ste-Anne-des-Plaines

His name is Napoléon Hogue.

These pictures were lent to me two years ago so I could scan them and share with my readers on my blog Nos Ancêtres.

I was not alone in this search and some of my readers helped me.

Together we found a lot…

To put all this into perspective, I am a French-Canadian who found some of his roots in Bristol, Connecticut in the 1900 U.S. Census.


My grandfather Léo Lagacé Senior lived there with his parents and his brother Adlore (Adélard).

In a sense I was born again when I found this.

This was a revelation to me since I knew very little about my Lagacé lineage. I found a lot and it’s all here on this blog.

You don’t have to read every article. I wrote quite a lot.

Click here for just this one… it’s about the Hogue family

So now I want everyone to benefit from what I have learned doing genealogy.

So here goes…

I have been waiting for almost two years for this. This man is Jean-Marie Hogue. He’s the third one to bear that name.

Jean-Marie Hogue III
1846-1920

He was born in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, a small village north of Montreal back in the 1840s. We know who he was because someone had his obituary card.

With this obituary card the flood gate opened and we could identify some people in the picture, among these was his second wife Hermine Léveillé and their children.

Jean-Marie’s daughter Bernadette got married around 1910 and this was her wedding picture. Many family members from Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines came to the wedding. 

Here we see Napoléon, Clémentine and Jean-Marie III.

Clémentine brought her husband along with her two sons…

Wilfrid Bélisle

Samuel Bélisle

Joseph Bélisle

Bernadette Hogue married Joseph Phaneuf.

Joseph Phaneuf and Bernadette Hogue

One reader told me they had wedding rings on…

This is how we discovered it was a wedding picture…

The person who wrote me this week about my articles told me she thought that Bernadette was Bernadette Levasseur.

That was a shock to me because I thought I had figured everything out.

You see she knew about a Bernadette Levasseur married to a William Phaneuf and she figured that William was probably a second given name for Joseph.

I looked into the matter and, to my surprise,  found out this person had the names of  Jean-Marie Hogue II and Rosalie Truchon dit Léveillé in her family tree.

Jean-Marie Hogue II

These were Jean-Marie Hogue III’s parents and Bernadette’s grandparents.

With her help, we manage to figure it all out.


Her Bernadette was not the Bernadette in the 1910 picture and her William was not Joseph.

But a funny thing happen on the way to Malborough, Massachussets…

We found ourselves in Bristol, Connecticut with her ancestors, the place where my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé lived in 1900!

Small world isn’t…

Small indeed…

Come back next Monday for the sequel of…

Sometimes it takes time… but it is worth the effort.

Click to zoom in

2 thoughts on “Sometimes it takes time…

  1. Hi Ron,

    How’s the weather in southern Ontario?
    Here they’re calling for freezing rain.

    I know my article was quite long, but sometimes it takes time to tell a story that is 100 years long.

    Stay tuned for more.

    Have a nice day my friend.

Leave a Reply

