22 Conlon street, Bristol, Connecticut…

Sandy put me on hold with my favorite picture…


We all have our precious pictures of our ancestors.

This is my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé.

Stanislas Lagasse 1842

Sandy sent it to me without knowing who he was. I only had my great-grandfather birth certificate.

Together we manage to find who he was by looking at this picture…

Four generations

I have no picture of my great-great-grandfather Stanislas 1816 who bears the same given name as Stanislas Lagacé who I now call Stanislas 1842 since he also named one of his sons Stanislas who I call Stanislas 1864

This is all I have of Stanislas 1816… his certificate of death.


Stanislas Lagacé 1816-1900

Click on the image

Sandy sent it last week as an early Christmas present!

There are probably some pictures of Stanislas 1816 somewhere in an old dusty wooden chest hidden behind a pile of old objects in a dark attic somewhere in Bristol, Connecticut in 2010.

You see Stanislas Lagacé 1816, aka Dennis Lagasse 1816, died on March 26, 1900. He missed the 1900 U.S. census by only two months  and five days. If he had been around in June 1900, I would have known with whom he was living back then.

Stanislas died from mitral insufficiency because of his old age. That’s what Doctor Desmarais wrote 110 years ago.

He also wrote my great-great-grandfather’s home address:

22 Conlon street, Bristol, Connecticut…