Remember Sandy…?

I know I should not write more than one article a week, but I know Ron, Sandy, Joe, and now Melissa will understand my passion for genealogy and for writing about it.

Monday Melissa wrote a comment on my blog…

She’s the one who was stuck with her Lagacé lineage.

Hi Pierre,

I haven’t forgotten about you. I’ve been so immersed in all the wonderful information you’ve found for me, that I’ve been neglecting nearly every other aspect of my life. I guess it would be a bit of an understatement to say I have a ‘bit’ of an obsession with genealogy!

I appologize for not getting back to you sooner. I’ve found some more info which you may be interested in checking out yourself.


Take a look.

http://cjutras.org/CJ0H0000.html

Let me know if you find anything good.

Best!

Melissa

You see, it’s very dangerous stuff when you answer one of my messages left on Ancestry… You don’t know what is going to hit you.

As for Sandy, you know she has been sending a lot of pictures since we first met on the Internet a month or so ago…

This is my favorite picture.

sisters

Sandy did not know the identity of the young women, so I saved that picture under the name “sisters”.

This picture was part of the collection someone gave her a long time ago.

If you have been reading this blog recenty, you know I have posted an article on Joe.

Joe lives in the United States and he wanted to share a picture with me.

La société Saint-Jean-Baptiste

You can zoom in by clicking on the image.

His grandfather Joseph Terrien is on the left top row. Joe thought my great-grandfather Stanislas Lagacé (Dennis Lagasse) was also in this picture.

Joe took the time to write me, just as I took the time to write to Melissa.

You see Stanislas was Joseph Terrien’s uncle or Joe’s granduncle if you prefer. Joseph’s mother was Marguerite Alexandre the sister of Henriette Alexandre who was Stanislas’ wife.

Joe and I are third cousins!

I know very little about Henriette Alexandre and I would wish I had a picture of her.

I also know very little about “la société Saint-Jean-Baptiste”.

Last year, someone sent me a picture. He had little information about it.

I knew it was taken around 1906-1907 in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines because I could identify some men in the picture.

circa 1906

You can zoom in by clicking on the image.

Déjà vu?

These men are part of “la société Saint-Jean-Baptiste” in Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines. The medals are the same.

As for Joe’s picture, I know his grandfather was born in 1866. In the picture  he looks to be in his mid-thirties. We could date the picture around 1901.

Joe says I can share what information he has given me.

You will be amazed at what he sent me…

Leave a Reply

