George Lagasse Undertaker… in Massachusetts in 1909

As I told you before I found a lot of ancestors and descendants of the Lagacé family. Some Lagacés went to the United States and changed their name to Lagasse. Most were the descendants of Pierre Lagacé and Marcelline David.

Pierre Lagacé was the son of Antoine Mignier dit Lagacé and Ursule Cordeau dit Deslauriers. Pierre Lagacé and Marcelline David had a lot of children:

Adolphe

Henri

Isidore

Marie-Anne Émilie

Damase

Joséphine

Adélia

Clara

Marie

Idala

Ambroise…

Maybe more because at that time women were expected by the Church to bear a child every year!

I will start with Adolphe whom I never met of course.

I know he was born on March 14, 1851 in Notre-Dame-de-Standbridge, Missiquoi, Québec, Canada. He was christened at in Notre-Dame-des-Anges church.

Adolphe married Mélanie Berthiaume on August 22, 1873 in Bedford, Missisquoi, Québec, Canada. They were married in St-Damien church.

I found four children :

Click for a larger view

Frobe

Alice

Eva

George.

I had already found Frobe and Alice.

Frobe married Valéda Forand and Alice married Olivier Caron.

This information was found on the Internet quite a long time ago during my research on my ancestors.

But I found Eva and George only this morning on the Mormons’ site.

Eva married Rodolphe Le Clair and George married Élizabeth Roy.

George is listed as being an undertaker.

The Mormons’ site has the images of the Massachusetts marriages and we can find a lot of information.

While I was adding these new files on my Heritage site, I found a match.

Bob LaGasse has the same people. I wrote him several times but he never replied to my messages.

Maybe someday he will read this blog and figure out who this Pierre Lagacé amateur genealogist is.

On the other hand, it would be great if you found your ancestors as you are reading this…

Next time I will talk about Frobe Lagasse.

Leave a Reply

