Eugène Dubé

Maria Landry is my grandfather’s first wife. What’s the connection with Eugène Dubé?

Leo Lagace Senior and Maria Landry Landry were married on September 16, 1912.

In this page of the parish registers of Saint-Hyacinthe-le-Confesseur church it is said that Leo Lagace was the son of Stanislas Lagacé and Henriette Alexandre.

This is the bottom part of the page…

Stanislas is said to be a contractor living in Bristol, Connecticut, and Henriette Alexandre is deceased.

What about Eugène Dubé?

Now take a look at the other page…

The witness is Eugène Dubé.

At that time I did not know about the 1900 U.S. census available on the Mormons’ site. It’s only after that I connected the dots. Eugène Dubé led me to the U.S. censuses and this is how I found my grandfather…

Eugène is my grandfather’s brother-in-law. He married Lilie Lagacé one of Henriette Alexandre’s 13 children.

I managed to find 12 of her children. The one I did not find probably was born in the U.S. like Antoine and Stanislas II because I could not find any information in Notre-Dame des Neiges’ parish register where most of her children were baptized.

In the 1911 Canadian census I found both Eugène and Léo. Eugène was living with his wife and kids while Léo was a boarder in Léandre Gervais’ house.

Who is Léandre Gervais? Well we won’t get into that. Let’s just say he was living in the parish of Notre-Dame-des-Anges in 1881.

Next time who is Marie Landry? This is quite a story.