How it all started…

This is the picture that is hanging on the wall of my office.

Edouard

Édouard Métayer

It is the picture of Édouard Métayer. He was a fireman and made captain in 1911.

Édouard is the father of my paternal grandmother Juliette Métayer.

Édouard died on April 2, 1928, on the eve of his 34th anniversary as a Montreal fireman.

The only memory I had as a child was a framed picture of this fireman in an old apartment on Mentana Street in Montreal back in the 1950′s.

My grandparents were living there. My grandsparents were poor and I knew little about them.

My grandmother Juliette had told me that her father, Édouard Métayer, had died when he tried to stop the horses while responding to a fire alarm. The horses were scared by a train that was coming.

Édouard died a month later.

That is all I knew. At that time, I was around seven or eight years old.

Fifty years later, after a lot of research, I know a bit more… well quite a lot more…

Édouard Métayer 022

1928

And everyday now Édouard Métayer is smiling at me in my office.

Edouard

This man is the reason I started looking for my ancestors.

Next time, I will show you another picture.