Guess who went to Holland…

Hi Pierre,

How interesting that you found my message posted in 2005.  It has been floating around in Cyber Space for over 4 years.  I also, recently, received an e-mail from a distant relative, in Switzerland, who also found my message on the net.

Amazing!

I visited Holland last year (2008) along with a sister and my daughter.   We went to Dinteloord, where our great grandfather and a few generations before him, lived.

There are still dozens of  “Sulkers” families living in that town, south of Rotterdam, in North Brabant.   We met a number of “Sulkers” there, but unfortunately the church in that town was bombed and burned, during WWII and all of the old town records were destroyed.

We were able to get the direct line of the “Sulkers” family from other sources and I now have our family tree back to the early 1700’s.

There are no stories attached, unfortunately, but I do have names, dates of birth and death.

I also have a copy of an article printed on godutch.com, published on June 23, 2003.  This gives a little of Herm’s family history.  You could possibly find this on their website or contact Vanderheide Publishing Co. Ltd.  at 1-800-881-0705.  It is a copyright article.

I have read all of the information that you sent  to me and some of it is new to me.

I thank you for passing on the stories of other men that survived the sinking of the Athabaskan.  Herm was among those hauled out of the water and taken as a POW.  The family didn’t know if he lived or died until those prisoners were rescued at the end of the war.  Herm didn’t talk much about those days, but I do remember him saying that bombers from both the Allies and the Enemy, flew over them every day and they never knew when the facility that they were imprisoned in, would be bombed, perhaps even by the Allied planes.

It must have been hell on earth for those men.

Again, thank you for your e-mail.

Let me know when you publish your next article about Herm.

I’d love to read it.

Best wishes,

Ev Howard.

Well, now you know who is Evelyn…